50 years of Fraunhofer ISI

At Fraunhofer ISI, we do research every day for a better future. In this year, however, we are also looking back over the past 50 successful years since the institute was founded in 1972.

On this page, we have collected special moments from this year – and the many prior ones. Browse through our commemorative brochure, find out more about the topics in our research anthology, or explore the Institute’s different activities in our social media campaign.

Ceremony to mark the 50th anniversary

© Fraunhofer ISI/Julia Weller

On Thursday, September 15, 2022, Fraunhofer ISI celebrated its 50th anniversary with a grand ceremony in Karlsruhe. Guests from academia, the economy and politics came together to look back over 50 years of innovation research.

Under the motto “Shaping Future Together”, we wanted to celebrate the past and of course dare to look ahead to the future – as our Institute’s topics are more important now than ever before given the current challenges. 

Anthology on the occasion of the 50th anniversary

On the occasion of the 50th anniversary, the staff members of Fraunhofer ISI are compiling an anthology with topics from five decades.

The publication entitled "Innovation and systems research in transition - 50 years of continuity and change in supporting innovation and transformation policies" is a joint effort across all Competence Centers and will soon be published by Springer Verlag (Heidelberg).

On our website we have compiled a preview of the contributions included.

Campaign #50years50weeks

From January to December 2022, we will present current and past research projects, activities and personalities from 50 years of Fraunhofer ISI in 50 social media postings.

 

8.9.2022

In today's video, our colleagues talk about the Joint Innovation Hub. The JIH looks at and analyses innovation developments from the perspective of organizations and companies in order to subsequently support them in the implementation of innovation processes.

 

1.9.2022

The business unit Demand Analyses and Projections focuses on the transformation of the industry and heating sectors. The business unit develops simulation models to be used in system analysis studies to calculate transformation paths towards CO2 neutrality.

 

25.8.2022

Over the last 50 years, our scientists have published their research findings in various publications. But how many of them have exactly been published since 1972?  You can find out the exact number in the video!

 

18.8.2022

The business unit Mobility conducts research on the systemic and economic aspects of passenger and freight transport. Research topics include among others the economic, social and environmental effects of transport policy strategies, sustainability assessments or innovative business models.

 

11.8.2022

Our business unit Regional Innovation Dynamics and Knowledge Exchange, led by Thomas Stahlecker, explores the structures, processes and dynamics of regional innovation from a systemic perspective. An essential aspect here is how institutionalized technology and knowledge transfer functions.

 

4.8.2022

At Fraunhofer ISI, we not only conduct research on renewable energies, but we have also been actively generating renewable electricity ourselves for years: In November 1995, the "Förderverein Solartechnik am ISI e.V. ('ISI-Power')" was founded.

 

28.7.2022

In today's post, we take a look back at our event on 19 and 20 July: Representatives from municipalities and science discussed possibilities to take action together to adapt to the climate crisis.

 

21.7.2022

Time to reconnect: For our Open House in Karlsruhe, many colleagues, alumni, friends and family came together for a big celebration. We enjoyed inspiring speeches on the role of our institute as well as insights on how the work at ISI has developed since our foundation in 1972.

 

14.7.2022

Today we look back at our first anniversary event this year: the symposium in Berlin on "Innovation and Systems Change". The panel discussion is now available to watch online.

 

7.7.2022

The business unit Foresight for Strategy Development, led by Dr. Ewa Dönitz, supports clients from business, policy and regions in the development of long-term overall, thematic or divisional strategies.

 

30.6.2022

Our business unit Competitiveness and Innovation Measurement  analyses innovation systems and examines the technological performance of sectors, countries and markets.

 

22.6.2022

Our Business Unit Societal Change and Innovation led by Dr Susanne Bührer analyses the patterns of relationships between society, economy, science and policy and the impacts these have on research and innovation processes.

 

15.6.2022

How do municipalities have to change in order to deal with challenges such as the energy transition, climate change or the mobility transition? These questions are being researched in our cross-cutting topic "Transformation and Innovation Systems for urban areas".

 

9.6.2022

A safe and environmentally compatible energy supply needs sustainable supply systems. In the Business Unit Energy Economy headed by Patrick Plötz, market analyses for technologies and services are conducted.

 

2.6.2022

"I would like to know what your innovation research institute looks like from inside“. A good question that one of our followers recently asked us in the context of #50Years50Weeks. The answer is provided in the photo, combined with a short journey back in time!

 

25.5.2022

In our business unit headed by Dr Sven Wydra, current developments and their effects due to the bioeconomy and the life sciences are examined - for example in the areas of medicine, agriculture, industrial production or environmental protection technologies.

 

19.5.2022

Our business unit Electricity Markets and Infrastructures analyses how energy can be provided in a greenhouse gas-neutral way in the future and uses energy supply models such as the Enertile model family for this purpose.

 

12.5.2022

Frieder Meyer-Krahmer (in the middle) led the institute together with Eberhard Jochem and Hariolf Grupp (right) from 1990 until 2005. In today's post we explain why the institute's name changed during that time.

 

5.5.2022

Raw materials are necessary for satisfying the needs of modern societies – which is why our business unit Raw Materials, headed by Dr. Luis A. Tercero Espinoza, examines raw material flows and future raw material demand in the context of current megatrends.

 

28.4.2022

Sustainability is not only an important research topic for us, but also a guiding principle in everyday life – and is also relevant for the employees of Fraunhofer ISI, for example, when commuting to work.

 

21.4.2022

The business unit Actors and Social Acceptance in the Transformation of the Energy System analyses the attitudes and needs as well as the decisions and actions of political, economic and social actors in the transformation of the energy system.

 

14.4.2022

What is the environmental performance of electric cars? Where does Germany stand in terms of digitization? What are the challenges of importing hydrogen? Our Policy Briefs provide answers to these and many other questions.

 

7.4.2022

Research and innovation are important for achieving the UN Sustainable Development Goals. What innovation policy must do to implement them is what the Business Unit Policy for Innovation and Transformation led by Stephanie Daimer explores.

 

1.4.2022

Today we celebrate 50 years of ISI! To mark this special occasion, we asked our Executive Director Prof. Dr Jakob Edler three questions about the Fraunhofer ISI.

 

1.4.2022

Today we celebrate 50 years of ISI! To mark this special occasion, we asked our Institute Director, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Marion A. Weissenberger-Eibl, three questions about the Fraunhofer ISI.

 

24.3.2022

Renting clothes instead of buying them: a promising model for the future? These kinds of questions are researched in the Business Unit Sustainability Innovation and Policy presented by Head Sabine Langkau.

 

17.3.2022

He laid the foundation 50 years ago: Helmar Krupp was the founding director of the Fraunhofer ISI, which he directed from 1972 to 1989. He is considered one of the inventors of the modern Fraunhofer model and is the author of the »ISI Foundation Study«.

 

10.3.2022

The Business Unit Industrial Change and New Business Models researches innovation and competitive strategies of manufacturing companies. A current study researched the effects of the pandemic on the industry.

 

3.3.2022

Instead of a contribution to #50Years50Weeks, we would like to express our shock and bewilderment today in the face of the attack on Ukraine, which is contrary to international law.

 

24.2.2022

With her team, Tanja Bratan investigates innovations in the health system – individual products as well as complex transformation processes. The DESIREE project, for example, explores how AI-based systems are changing the healthcare system.

 

17.2.2022

In the business unit Future Dialogues we design processes for developing alternative futures. Our video explains how a future dialogue works online and how we reach new people with it.

 

10.2.2022

Fraunhofer IOSB took us in at the institute building in the Waldstadt district of Karlsruhe in 1972. Today, some of our staff work in the Technology Park. A video presentation shows some of the new premises.

 

3.2.2022

Our business unit »Regulation and Innovation« analyzes regulatory framework conditions and their effects on innovation. 

 

27.1.2022

How does AI contribute to the energy transition and how well is Germany positioned in terms of research? We address these and other questions in the cross-cutting topic »Artificial Intelligence«.

 

18.1.2022

This year we are celebrating 50 years of Fraunhofer ISI – but today above all the 80th birthday of Prof. Dr. Eberhard Jochem! Since 1973 he has been inseparably linked with the institute.

 

13.1.2022

»50 years of ISI - shaping | future | together« – this is our anniversary motto, which our colleague Aline Scherrer came up with. Here she explains what the motto expresses. 

 

5.1.2022

In 2022 we will celebrate 50 years of Fraunhofer ISI! Under the hashtag #50Years50Weeks we publish a new post every week with information from 50 years of Fraunhofer ISI!

50 Jahre Fraunhofer ISI

Am Fraunhofer ISI forschen wir jeden Tag für eine bessere Zukunft. In diesem Jahr blicken wir aber auch in die Vergangenheit: Wir schauen zurück auf 50 erfolgreiche Jahre seit der Gründung des Instituts 1972.

Auf dieser Seite sammeln wir die besonderen Momente aus diesem Jahr – und den vielen davor. Stöbern Sie durch unsere Festschrift, erfahren Sie mehr über die Themen unseres wissenschaftlichen Sammelbands oder erkunden Sie die verschiedenen Tätigkeiten des Instituts mit unserer Social-Media-Kampagne.

Festakt zum 50-jährigen Bestehen

© Fraunhofer ISI/Julia Weller

Am Donnerstag, den 15. September 2022, feierte das Fraunhofer ISI sein 50-jähriges Bestehen mit einem großen Festakt in Karlsruhe. Gäste aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik kamen zusammen, um einen Blick zurück auf 50 Jahre Innovationsforschung zu werfen. 

Unter dem Motto »gemeinsam | Zukunft | gestalten« wollten wir feiern und natürlich auch einen Blick nach vorne wagen – denn die Themen unseres Instituts sind angesichts aktueller Herausforderungen wichtiger denn je zuvor.

Einen Rückblick auf 50 Jahre Fraunhofer ISI gab Prof. Dr. Jakob Edler in seiner Festrede unter dem Motto »Gemeinsam Zukunft gestalten – 50 Jahre Fraunhofer ISI im Auftrag für das Morgen«. Die Rede ist hier in gekürzter und leicht veränderter Fassung als Text verfügbar.

 

Symposien anlässlich des Jubiläums

 

Jubiläums-Symposium in Berlin

 

Jubiläums-Symposium in Brüssel

 

Fachsymposium: Kommunen im Klimawandel

 

Fachsymposium: Vertrauenswürdige KI

Sammelband zum Jubiläum des Fraunhofer ISI

Anlässlich des 50-jährigen Jubiläums erarbeiten die Mitarbeiter:innen des Fraunhofer ISI einen Sammelband mit Themen aus fünf Jahrzehnten.

Die Publikation mit dem Titel »Innovation and systems research in transition – 50 years of continuity and change in supporting innovation and transformation policies« ist ein Gemeinschaftswerk über alle Competence Center hinweg und wird demnächst im Springer Verlag (Heidelberg) erscheinen.

Auf unserer Webseite haben wir einen Vorausblick auf die enthaltenen Beiträge zusammengestellt.

Kampagne #50Jahre50Wochen

Von Januar bis Dezember 2022 stellen wir in 50 Beiträgen in den sozialen Netzwerken aktuelle und vergangene Forschungsprojekte, Aktivitäten und Persönlichkeiten aus 50 Jahren Fraunhofer ISI vor.

 

15.9.2022

Endlich ist es soweit: Das Fraunhofer ISI feiert sein 50-jähriges Bestehen mit einem großen Festakt in Karlsruhe. Verfolgen Sie unsere Veranstaltung live auf unserem Twitter-Kanal!

 

8.9.2022

Im heutigen Video stellen wir den Joint Innovation Hub vor. Der JIH analysiert Innovationsentwicklungen und unterstützt Organisationen und Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung von Innovationsprozessen. Die Kolleg:innen beschäftigen sich z.B. mit Nachhaltigkeit und neuer Mobilität.

 

1.9.2022

Unser Geschäftsfeld Nachfrageanalysen und -projektionen analysiert die Transformation der Sektoren Industrie und Wärme. Im Ariadne-Projekt untersuchen unsere Forschenden die Entwicklungen im Energiesystem, mehr dazu im Video.

 

25.8.2022

Heute rücken wir die Publikationen des Fraunhofer ISI aus den vergangenen 50 Jahren ins Scheinwerferlicht. Wie viele sind davon seit 1972 entstanden? Was schätzen Sie? Die Auflösung gibt es im Post! 

 

18.8.2022

Im Geschäftsfeld Mobilität werden systemische und ökonomische Aspekte des Personen- und Güterverkehrs erforscht. Die Themen umfassen u.a. wirtschaftliche, soziale und ökologische Effekte von verkehrspolitischen Strategien, Nachhaltigkeitsbewertungen oder innovative Geschäftsmodelle.

 

11.8.2022

In unserem Geschäftsfeld Regionale Innovationsdynamik und Wissensaustausch werden regionale Innovationen systemisch untersucht. Im heutigen Post stellen wir das IMPER vor, das z.B. innovationspolitische Maßnahmen für strukturschwache Regionen erarbeitete.

 

4.8.2022

Erneuerbare Energien? Erforschen und erzeugen wir auch selbst! Unsere Solaranlage hat seit 1995 mehr als 83.000 kWh erzeugt. Wie weit man damit mit einem E-Auto fahren könnte, verraten wir im Post.

 

28.7.2022

Wie schützen wir Städte in der Klimakrise? Mitte Juli diskutierten Bürger:innen, Fachleute & Forschende bei einem Fachsymposium in Karlsruhe über notwendige Klimaanpassungen für Kommunen.

 

21.7.2022

Endlich sahen wir uns wieder: Bei unserer ersten großen Jubiläumsfeier, unserem Tag der offenen Tür, feierten viele Kolleg:innen, Almuni, Freund:innen und Interessierte #50JahreISI. Danke an alle, die diesen spannenden Tag mit uns teilen konnten!

 

14.7.2022

Heute blicken wir zurück auf unsere erste Jubiläums-Veranstaltung in diesem Jahr: das Symposium in Berlin zu »Innovation und Systemwandel«. Die Podiumsdiskussion ist jetzt als Video verfügbar.

 

7.7.2022

Das Geschäftsfeld Foresight zur Strategieentwicklung entwickelt Handlungsoptionen für Auftraggeber aus Wirtschaft, Politik und Regionen. Im Tweet stellen wir das Projekt DAKIS vor.

 

30.6.2022

Das Geschäftsfeld Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Innovationsmessung analysiert Innovationssysteme und untersucht die technologische Leistungsfähigkeit von Sektoren, Ländern und Märkten. 

 

22.6.2022

Unser Geschäftsfeld Gesellschaftlicher Wandel und Innovation untersucht die Beziehungen zwischen Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik sowie deren Auswirkungen auf Forschungs- und Innovationsprozesse.

 

15.6.2022

Wie müssen sich Kommunen wandeln, um mit Herausforderungen wie der Energiewende, dem Klimawandel oder der Mobilitätswende umzugehen?  Diese und andere Fragen werden im Querschnittsthema »Transformations- und Innovationssysteme urbaner Räume« erforscht.

 

9.6.2022

Eine sichere und umweltverträgliche Energieversorgung braucht nachhaltige Versorgungssysteme. Im von Patrick Plötz geleiteten Geschäftsfeld Energiewirtschaft werden Marktanalysen für Technologien und Dienstleistungen durchgeführt, neue Energieträger bewertet und Systemanalysen erstellt.

 

2.6.2022

»Wie sieht Euer Innovationsforschungsinstitut eigentlich von innen aus?« Gute Frage, die uns eine:r unserer Follower:innen zu #50Jahre50Wochen stellte. Die Antwort gibt’s im heutigen Tweet mit einer kleinen Foto-Zeitreise.

 

25.5.2022

In unserem Geschäftsfeld Bioökonomie und Lebenswissenschaften werden aktuelle Entwicklungen und Wirkungen in diesen Bereichen untersucht. Eine Studie für die EU-Kommission stellt die 50 wichtigsten biobasierten Innovationen vor.

 

19.5.2022

Unser Geschäftsfeld Strommärkte und -infrastrukturen analysiert auf Basis komplexer Modelle, wie Energie künftig treibhausgasneutral bereitgestellt werden kann. Im Tweet gibt es mehr Infos über das Projekt »Langfristszenarien 3«.

 

12.5.2022

Frieder Meyer-Krahmer (Mitte) leitete das ISI von 1990 bis 2005 mit Eberhard Jochem und Hariolf Grupp. Warum sich unter seiner Leitung der Institutsname änderte, verraten wir im Tweet.

 

5.5.2022

Rohstoffe bilden die materielle Basis unserer Gesellschaft – daher untersucht unser von Dr. Luis A. Tercero Espinoza geleitetes Geschäftsfeld Rohstoffe Rohstoffkreisläufe und zukünftige Rohstoffbedarfe im Kontext aktueller Megatrends.

 

28.4.2022

Nachhaltigkeit ist für uns nicht nur ein zentrales Forschungsthema, sondern auch Leitmotiv im Alltag – und wird von unseren Mitarbeitenden z.B. auf dem Arbeitsweg gelebt. So kommen die ISIaner:innen ans Institut:

 

21.4.2022

Das Geschäftsfeld Akteure und Akzeptanz in der Transformation des Energiesystems analysiert Einstellungen und das Handeln aller relevanten Akteure bei der Transformation des Energiesystems. Leiterin Elisabeth Dütschke erzählt davon im Video.

 

14.4.2022

Welche Umweltbilanz haben elektrische Pkw? Wo steht Deutschland bei der Digitalisierung? Welche Herausforderungen gibt es beim Wasserstoff-Import? Auf diese und viele andere Fragen liefern unsere Policy Briefs Antworten.

 

7.4.2022

Wie Innovationspolitik nachhaltige Transformationen fördert, erforscht unser Geschäftsfeld Politik für Innovation und Transformation. Leiterin Stephanie Daimer stellt das Geschäftsfeld vor.

 

1.4.2022

Heute feiern wir 50 Jahre ISI! Zu diesem besonderen Anlass haben wir unserem geschäftsführenden Institutsleiter Prof. Dr. Jakob Edler drei Fragen zum ISI gestellt.

 

1.4.2022

Heute feiern wir 50 Jahre ISI! Zu diesem besonderen Anlass haben wir unserer Institutsleiterin Univ.-Prof. Dr. Marion A. Weissenberger-Eibl drei Fragen zum ISI gestellt.

 

24.3.2022

Kleidung mieten statt kaufen: ein Modell mit Zukunft? Das ist ein Beispiel für Fragestellungen im Geschäftsfeld Nachhaltigkeitsinnovation und Politik, das Leiterin Sabine Langkau vorstellt.

 

17.3.2022

Er legte vor 50 Jahren den Grundstein: Helmar Krupp war Gründungsdirektor des Fraunhofer ISI, das er von 1972 bis 1989 leitete. Er gilt als einer der Erfinder des modernen Fraunhofer-Modells und ist Autor der »ISI-Gründungsstudie«.

 

10.3.2022

Im Geschäftsfeld Industrieller Wandel und neue Geschäftsmodelle werden Innovations- und Wettbewerbsstrategien produzierender Unternehmen erforscht. Eine aktuelle Studie des Geschäftsfelds befasste sich mit den Auswirkungen der Corona-Krise auf die Industrie.

 

3.3.2022

Anstelle eines Beitrags zu #50Jahre50Wochen möchten wir heute unserer Erschütterung und unserer Fassungslosigkeit Ausdruck verleihen angesichts des völkerrechtswidrigen Angriffs auf die Ukraine.

 

24.2.2022

Mit ihrem Team untersucht Tanja Bratan Innovationen im Gesundheitssystem – einzelne Produkte genauso wie komplexe Transformationsprozesse. Wie KI-basierte Systeme das Gesundheitswesen verändern, erforscht z.B. das Projekt DESIREE.

 

17.2.2022

Im Geschäftsfeld Zukunftsdialoge konzipieren wir Prozesse zur Entwicklung alternativer Zukünfte. Wie ein Zukunftsdialog online abläuft und wie wir damit neue Menschen erreichen, erklärt unser Video.

 

10.2.2022

Im Institutsgebäude in der Karlsruher Waldstadt hat uns 1972 das Fraunhofer IOSB aufgenommen. Heute arbeitet ein Teil unserer Belegschaft im Technologiepark. Im Tweet gibt es einen Link zur Videovorstellung der neuen Räume.

 

3.2.2022

Our business unit »Regulation and Innovation« analyzes regulatory framework conditions and their effects on innovation. 

 

27.1.2022

Wie trägt KI zur Energiewende bei und wie gut ist Deutschland bei der Forschung aufgestellt? Mit diesen und anderen Fragen befassen wir uns im Querschnittsthema »Künstliche Intelligenz«.

 

18.1.2022

Wir feiern dieses Jahr 50 Jahre Fraunhofer ISI – aber heute vor allem den 80. Geburtstag von Prof. Dr. Eberhard Jochem! Seit 1973 ist er untrennbar mit dem ISI und dem Thema Energieeffizienz verbunden.  

 

13.1.2022

»50 Jahre ISI − gemeinsam | Zukunft | gestalten« – so lautet unser Jubiläumsmotto, das sich unsere Kollegin Aline Scherrer ausgedacht hat. Hier erklärt sie, was das Motto ausdrückt. 

 

5.1.2022

Im Jahr 2022 feiern wir 50 Jahre Fraunhofer ISI! Unter dem Hashtag #50Jahre50Wochen veröffentlichen wir wöchentlich einen neuen Beitrag mit Infos aus 50 Jahren Fraunhofer ISI!