© shutterstock.com/anttoniart, shutterstock.com/fractal-an
Elektromobilität

Electric mobility

Electric mobility is a major topic for environmental, economic and social policy. The German government’s objective is to reduce CO2 emissions from transport by 40 to 42 percent by 2030 and thus to make a significant contribution to mitigating global warming. Hence, the most important aim is to electrify road transport as much as possible.

Fraunhofer ISI examines the different factors and forms of electric mobility in many different research projects and has accumulated extensive expertise over the years. Its main areas of research include sector coupling, market evolution scenarios, new mobility concepts and business models, user acceptance in the private and commercial sectors, infrastructure development, roadmaps for energy storage, drive concepts that focus on lithium-ion batteries, and the significance of electric mobility for the economy, society, and the environment. Our analyses of electric mobility are based on a wide range of methods, in particular on detailed models of the transformation of the transport sector in the context of the transformation of the entire energy system.

Integrating electric mobility into the larger context of the transport sector is executed by scientific support of the Federal Ministry of Transport with the German government’s Mobility and Fuels Strategy, which is coordinated by Fraunhofer ISI. Researchers from Fraunhofer ISI are represented in the National Platform Future of Mobility and in the Strategy Dialog Automotive Industry Baden-Wuerttemberg.

Together with three other Fraunhofer institutes, Fraunhofer ISI has participated in the “Profilregion Mobilitätssysteme Karlsruhe” (High-Performance Center Mobility Systems Karlsruhe) since the beginning of 2016. This research alliance is one of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft’s High-Performance Centers and has received eight million euros of funding from the federal state of Baden-Wuerttemberg over the years. Here, relevant research partners from the region collaborate on integrated mobility solutions. Their goal is to make cities and their surrounding areas attractive for people to live and work despite the increasing volume of passenger and goods transport.

Questions#

How do people perceive electric vehicles?

How will battery technologies and markets evolve in the future?

Under which conditions is electric mobility sustainable?

What challenges does electric mobility pose for the energy system?

Which drives and infrastructures will be used in the future?

What does the future market roll-out of alternative drives look like?

What does electric mobility imply for sharing schemes, businesses and municipalities?

What job effects does electric mobility have?

How can policies influence the development of electric mobility?

© shutterstock.com/anttoniart, shutterstock.com/fractal-an
Elektromobilität

Elektromobilität

Elektromobilität ist ein bedeutendes umwelt-, wirtschafts- und gesellschaftspolitisches Thema. Ziel der Bundesregierung ist, die Emissionen im Verkehr bis 2030 um 40 bis 42 Prozent zu senken und einen deutlichen Beitrag zur Reduktion der Klimaerwärmung zu leisten. Dabei gilt es vor allem den straßengebundenen Verkehr möglichst stark zu elektrifizieren.

Das Fraunhofer ISI untersucht in zahlreichen Forschungsprojekten unterschiedliche Faktoren und Formen von Elektromobilität und hat über die Jahre ein umfangreiches Know-how entwickelt. Zu den Schwerpunkten gehören Sektorkopplung, Markthochlaufszenarien, neue Mobilitätskonzepte und Geschäftsmodelle, Nutzerakzeptanz im privaten und gewerblichen Bereich, Aufbau der Infrastruktur, Roadmaps für Energiespeicher, Antriebskonzepte mit Schwerpunkt auf Lithium-Ionen-Batterien sowie die Bedeutung der Elektromobilität für Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Unsere Analysen zur Elektromobilität beruhen auf einem breiten Methodenspektrum, insbesondere einer detaillierten Modellierung der Transformation des Verkehrssektors im Rahmen der Transformation des gesamten Energiesystems.

Die Einbindung der Elektromobilität im größeren Zusammenhang in dem Verkehrssektor erfolgt durch die Wissenschaftliche Beratung des Bundesverkehrsministeriums zur Mobilitäts- und Kraftstoffstrategie der Bundesregierung, die das Fraunhofer ISI leitet. Forscher:innen des Fraunhofer ISI sind in der Nationalen Plattform Zukunft der Mobilität (NPM) und im Strategiedialog Automobilwirtschaft Baden-Württemberg vertreten.

Seit Anfang 2016 ist das Fraunhofer ISI mit drei weiteren Fraunhofer-Instituten an der »Profilregion Mobilitätssysteme Karlsruhe« beteiligt. Dieser Verbund gehört zu den Leistungszentren der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und wurde vom Land Baden-Württemberg mit acht Millionen Euro gefördert. In diesem Projektverbund arbeiten relevante Forschungspartner der Region gemeinsam an integrierten Lösungen für die Mobilität. Ihr Ziel ist, Städte und ihr Umland als attraktives Lebens- und Arbeitsumfeld in Einklang mit dem zunehmenden Transport von Menschen und Gütern zu bringen.

Fragestellungen

Wie werden Elektrofahrzeuge wahrgenommen?

Wie entwickeln sich künftige Batterietechnologien und -märkte?

Unter welchen Bedingungen ist die Elektromobilität nachhaltig?

Welche energiewirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen bringt Elektromobilität mit sich?

Welche Antriebe und Infrastrukturen sind zukünftig im Einsatz?

Wie sieht der zukünftige Markthochlauf für alternative Antriebe aus?

Was bedeutet Elektromobilität im Sharing, Unternehmen und für Kommunen?

Welche Effekte hat Elektromobilität auf den Arbeitsmarkt?

Wie kann die Entwicklung der Elektromobilität politisch beeinflusst werden?