Business Units

Water Resources Management

The Business Unit Water Resources Management analyzes and assesses current changes in important framework conditions and the application potentials of technical and organizational innovations, and derives measures to improve the sustainability of water systems and infrastructures.

Sustainability Innovation and Policy

The Business Unit Sustainability Innovation and Policy analyzes innovation processes and policy instruments to raise resource efficiency and explores the competitiveness of sustainable future technologies.

Raw Materials

The Business Unit Raw Materials investigates historical, contemporary and future anthropogenic raw material cycles with the goal of understanding them systemically and describing them quantitatively. We explore the manifold relationships between raw materials production and use on the one hand, and environmental impacts, sustainability, actor behavior and innovation on the other hand. An important line of research focuses on raw materials criticality and the security of current and future supply for Germany and Europe.

Mobility

The Business Unit Mobility develops innovative transport concepts and investigates the impact of transport policy instruments.

Geschäftsfelder

Wasserwirtschaft

Das Geschäftsfeld Wasserwirtschaft analysiert und bewertet die aktuellen Veränderungen wichtiger Rahmenbedingungen sowie die Anwendungspotenziale technischer und organisatorischer Innovationen und leitet daraus Maßnahmen ab, die die Nachhaltigkeit wasserwirtschaftlicher Systeme und Infrastrukturen verbessern.

Nachhaltigkeitsinnovationen und Politik

Das Geschäftsfeld Nachhaltigkeitsinnovationen und Politik analysiert Innovationsprozesse und Politikinstrumente zur Steigerung der Ressourceneffizienz und untersucht die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit nachhaltiger Zukunftstechnologien.

Rohstoffe

Das Geschäftsfeld Rohstoffe untersucht historische, gegenwärtige und zukünftige, globale und regionale anthropogene Stoffkreisläufe um sie systemdynamisch zu verstehen und quantitativ zu beschreiben. Die Relation von Rohstoffgewinnung und -nutzung zu Umweltgrößen, Nachhaltigkeit, Akteursverhalten und Innovationsgeschehen spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle, wie auch die Interaktion zwischen technologischem Wandel und Rohstoffbedarf und die Sicherheit der Rohstoffversorgung für Deutschland und Europa.

Mobilität

Das Geschäftsfeld Mobilität entwickelt innovative Verkehrskonzepte und untersucht die Folgewirkungen verkehrspolitischer Instrumente.