Technology Assessment

Technological change – in the fields of biotechnology, health, energy, information technology or mobility, for instance – is usually associated with ambivalent effects for the economy and society.  This is why decision-makers from politics, business and society need orientation knowledge about the opportunities but also the risks, about the intended and unintended consequences, and the acceptability of future technological developments.

Technology Assessment (TA) addresses this need and helps to identify challenges in good time and to clarify open questions that arise in the context of technological innovations and mechanization. The orientation knowledge required for social assessments and political decisions to support socially desirable sociotechnical development pathways and transformations is generated by analyzing technology impacts and societal needs as early as possible using a multi-perspective and interdisciplinary approach as well as exploring how well technical solutions meet these needs.

Taking a holistic, systemic perspective which considers all the social sub-sectors affected is characteristic for the TA practiced at Fraunhofer ISI. The institute advocates a broad understanding of Technology Assessment, which encompasses the interplay of technology and society and includes processes of technology analysis, reflection and evaluation.

This entails applying a correspondingly wide array of methods, which range from economic impact assessments, potential analyses and agent-based modeling through social science-based empirical, quantitative and qualitative surveys and analyses to scenarios and roadmaps. Involving citizens and stakeholders is also very important methodologically, in order to complement the scientific and technical expertise and expand the basis of assessment.

Fraunhofer ISI is an active member of the international TA community and contributes to the relevant TA networks

Research approaches

Fraunhofer ISI conducts Technology Assessment in many different research contexts and thematic fields and with the participation of all its Competence Centers.

Parliamentary Technology Assessment

Fields of technology

Methodology development

ELSA research

Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI)

Innovation and Technology Analysis (ITA/INSIGHT)

Technology foresight

Technikfolgenabschätzung

Technologischer Wandel – etwa in den Bereichen Biotechnologie, Gesundheit, Energie, Informationstechnik oder Mobilität – ist in der Regel mit ambivalenten Auswirkungen für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft verbunden. Daher haben Entscheidungsträger:innen aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft großen Bedarf an Orientierungswissen sowohl über die Chancen als auch die Risiken, über intendierte und nicht-intendierte Folgen sowie die Akzeptabilität von zukünftigen technologischen Entwicklungen.

Technikfolgenabschätzung (TA) adressiert diesen Bedarf und trägt dazu bei, frühzeitig Herausforderungen zu identifizieren und offene Fragen zu klären, die im Zusammenhang mit technologischen Innovationen und Technisierung entstehen. Die möglichst frühzeitige, multiperspektivisch und interdisziplinär angelegte Analyse von Technikfolgen und gesellschaftlichen Bedarfen sowie die Untersuchung der Passfähigkeit zwischen Bedarfen und technischen Lösungen generiert Orientierungswissen für soziale Bewertungs- und politische Entscheidungsprozesse, um gesellschaftlich erwünschte soziotechnische Entwicklungspfade und Transformationen zu unterstützen.

Prägend für die am Fraunhofer ISI praktizierte TA ist der Anspruch, eine ganzheitliche, systemische Perspektive einzunehmen, die alle betroffenen gesellschaftlichen Teilbereiche in den Blick nimmt. Das Institut vertritt ein breites Verständnis von Technikfolgenabschätzung. Es umfasst das gesamte Wechselspiel von Technik und Gesellschaft und schließt Prozesse der Technikanalyse, -reflexion und -bewertung mit ein.

Dabei kommt ein entsprechend breites Methodenspektrum zur Anwendung. Es reicht von ökonomischen Impact Assessments, Potenzialanalysen und agentenbasierten Modellierungen über sozialwissenschaftliche empirische, quantitative und qualitative Erhebungen und Analysen bis hin zu Szenarioentwicklung und Roadmapping. Methodisch von starker Bedeutung ist zudem die partizipative Einbindung von Bürger:innen und Stakeholder:innen, um die wissenschaftlich-technische Expertise zu ergänzen und die Bewertungsgrundlagen zu erweitern.

Das Fraunhofer ISI ist ein aktiver Teil der internationalen TA-Szene und bringt sich in die einschlägigen TA-Netzwerke ein.

Forschungszugänge

Das Fraunhofer ISI führt Technikfolgenabschätzung unter Beteiligung aller Competence Center in vielen verschiedenen Forschungskontexten und thematischen Feldern durch.

Parlamentarische Technikfolgenabschätzung

Technikfelder

Methodenentwicklung

ELSA-Forschung

Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI)

Innovations- und Technikanalyse (ITA/INSIGHT)

Technikvorausschau