Industrial Technologies

Key enabling technologies such as nanotechnology, advanced materials, nano- and microelectronics, photonics or advanced manufacturing are considered to have strong impact on the current and future competitiveness of important industrial sectors. The Business Unit Industrial Technologies analyzes the emergence and development of these technologies, related process issues, market entry and market diffusion in different application areas. The range of service includes analyses of technological potentials, economic analyses and the investigation of societal and political framework conditions.

Coordinator of Business Unit is Dr. Axel Thielmann.

Focus Nanotechnology

 

Fraunhofer ISI already identified and characterized nanotechnology as an important future technology in the report “Technology at the beginning of the 21st century“, published in 1993. With the participation of all Competence Centers our institute today deals in numerous projects with issues regarding nanotechnological innovations – from early development to application.

Part of the portfolio are comparative analyses of nanotechnological innovation systems, elaboration of scenarios to forecast future nanotechnological developments, analyzing innovation drivers and barriers for the market diffusion of nanotechnological innovations, potential and impact assessments of technological developments, researching societal acceptance of emerging technologies, sustainability assessment as well as supporting the technology transfer.

Fraunhofer ISI contributes its expertise to the Fraunhofer Nanotechnology Alliance, the supra-regional network for nanotechnology materials NanoMat and the High-Tech-Initiative NanoValley.

Industrielle Technologien

Schlüsseltechnologien wie Nanotechnologie, Werkstoffe, Nano-Mikroelektronik, Photonik, Produktionstechnologien wird große Bedeutung für die aktuelle und künftige Wettbewerbsfähigkeit wichtiger Industriebereiche zugesprochen. Das Geschäftsfeld Industrielle Technologien analysiert die Technologieentstehung und -entwicklung bis hin zu Fragen der Produktion, Markterschließung und Diffusion entsprechender Technologien in verschiedenen Anwendungen. Das Leistungsspektrum reicht von technischen Potenzialanalysen, wirtschaftlichen Analysen bis zu Untersuchungen gesellschaftlicher und politischer Rahmenbedingungen.

Das Geschäftsfeld wird geleitet von Dr. Axel Thielmann.

Schwerpunkt Nanotechnologie

 

Das Fraunhofer ISI hat die Nanotechnologie bereits im 1993 erschienenen Bericht »Technologie am Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts« als wichtige Zukunftstechnologie identifiziert und charakterisiert. Heute beschäftigt sich unser Institut unter Beteiligung aller Competence Center in zahlreichen Projekten mit Fragestellungen zu nanotechnologischen Innovationen – von der Entstehung bis hin zur Anwendung.

Zum Portfolio gehören vergleichende Analysen nanotechnologischer Innovationssysteme, die Erarbeitung von Zukunftsbildern zur Vorausschau künftiger nanotechnologischer Entwicklungen, die Analyse von Innovationstreibern und -hemmnissen bei der Marktdiffusion von nanotechnologischen Innovationen, Potenzialabschätzungen und Impactanalysen technologischer Entwicklungen, die Erforschung gesellschaftlicher Akzeptanz neuer Technologien, eine Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung sowie die Unterstützung des Technologietransfers.

Das Fraunhofer ISI bringt seine Expertise in der Fraunhofer-Allianz Nanotechnologie, im überregionalen Netzwerk für Materialien der Nanotechnologie NanoMat und in der High-Tech-Initiative NanoValley ein.