Methodology development

Fraunhofer ISI is involved in the continuous further development of TA approaches as well as in testing new TA procedures and methods. 

Projects

Monitoring-System for RRI (SUPER MoRRI)

Within the MoRRI project, which ran from 2014 to 2018, a monitoring system was designed for responsible research and innovation (RRI) in Europe. The SUPER MoRRI project builds on this and refines the MoRRI indicators. The aims are an improved monitoring system and to continue collecting data across Europe on the development and benefits of RRI. An additional objective is to develop an understanding of the relationships between RRI policies and practices and their social, democratic, economic and scientific benefits.

MIN-TEA

In order to design new technologies to be environmentally-friendly, any potentially negative environmental impacts must be considered as early as possible in their development. In the MIN-TEA project, educational packages and software tools are developed that can help industry and universities to review the environmental risks of new technologies.

Time rebound, time prosperity and sustainable consumption (ReZeitKon)

Thanks to new technology, many processes take much less time today than they used to, for example, sending a message or buying a product. Despite this, many people complain that they have less and less time at their disposal. As a result of society’s acceleration, there is less time available that is perceived as “free” time. The ReZeitKon project explores this time rebound and the associated environmental effects of consumption using a simulation model which was developed specifically for this purpose.

Zielfokussiertes Evaluationstool für Innovationen im Gesundheitswesen (ZEIG) (Objective-focused evaluation tool for innovations in the health care sector)

ZEIG is an indicator-based evaluation tool developed by Fraunhofer ISI, which can be used to review to what extent individual innovations or measures, strategies, activities and projects of actors in the health care sector achieve 12 overriding objectives and thus contribute to a generally positive development of the health system. 

INNOLAB – Living Labs in Green Economy

So-called living labs play an important role in innovation processes: They enable researchers to get closer to real-world usage at early phases of development. In the INNOLAB project, a method was developed for integrating users and sustainability innovations in real-world labs. Fraunhofer ISI coordinated the roadmap to strengthen the living lab approach in the research and innovation system of a green economy, and designed the field tests in the practical project “Sustainable Shopping: Customer guidance at the point of sale”.

Publications

Methodenentwicklung

Das Fraunhofer ISI engagiert sich kontinuierlich in der konzeptionellen Weiterentwicklung von Ansätzen der Technikfolgenabschätzung (TA) sowie in der Erprobung neuer TA-Verfahren und Methoden der Evaluation und Technikbewertung.

Projekte

Monitoring-System für RRI (SUPER MoRRI)

Im Rahmen des MoRRI-Projektes wurde von 2014 bis 2018 ein Monitoringsystem für Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI; verantwortungsvolle Forschung und Innovation) in Europa konzipiert. Das Projekt SUPER MoRRI baut darauf auf und verfeinert die MoRRI-Indikatoren. Ziel ist die Fortsetzung der europaweiten Datenerhebung über die Entwicklung und den Nutzen von RRI und ein verbessertes Monitoring-System. Außerdem soll ein Verständnis für die Beziehungen zwischen Politik und RRI-Praxis sowie für deren gesellschaftlichen, demokratischen, wirtschaftlichen und wissenschaftlichen Nutzen entwickelt werden.

MIN-TEA

Um neue Technologien umweltfreundlich zu gestalten, sollten mögliche Umweltlasten idealerweise so früh wie möglich in der Entwicklung bedacht werden. Im Projekt MIN-TEA werden Bildungspakete und Softwaretools entwickelt, mit deren Hilfe Industrie und Hochschulen neue Technologien auf Umweltrisiken untersuchen können.

Zeit-Rebound, Zeitwohlstand und nachhaltiger Konsum (ReZeitKon)

Viele Prozesse, beispielsweise das Versenden einer Nachricht oder das Einkaufen von Produkten, gehen heutzutage dank neuer Technologien deutlich schneller als früher. Trotzdem klagen viele Menschen darüber, immer weniger Zeit zu haben. Als Resultat der gesellschaftlichen Beschleunigung steht weniger als »frei« wahrgenommene Zeit zur Verfügung. Das Projekt ReZeitKon untersucht diesen Zeit-Rebound und die damit einhergehenden Umweltwirkungen des Konsums mittels eines eigens hierfür entwickelten Simulationsmodells.

Zielfokussiertes Evaluationstool für Innovationen im Gesundheitswesen (ZEIG)

ZEIG ist ein vom Fraunhofer ISI entwickeltes indikatorengestütztes Evaluationstool, mit dessen Hilfe einzelne Innovationen oder Maßnahmen, Strategien, Aktivitäten und Projekte von Akteuren im Gesundheitswesen daraufhin geprüft werden können, inwieweit sie zur Erreichung von 12 übergeordneten Zielen im Gesundheitswesen und damit zu einer tendenziell positiven Gesamtentwicklung des Gesundheitswesens beitragen.

INNOLAB – Living Labs in Green Economy

In Innovationsprozessen spielen sogenannte Living Labs eine wichtige Rolle: Sie ermöglichen bereits in frühen Phasen eine Annäherung an reale Nutzungsprozesse. Im Projekt INNOLAB wurde eine Methodik für Nutzerintegration und Nachhaltigkeitsinnovation im realweltlichen Labor entwickelt. Das Fraunhofer ISI leitete das Roadmapping zur Stärkung des Living-Lab-Ansatzes im Forschungs- und Innovationssystem einer Green Economy und gestaltete im Praxisprojekt »Nachhaltig Einkaufen: Kundenführung am Point of Sale« die Feldtests.

Publikationen