Doctoral student profiles

At any one time there are between 40 and 50 doctoral students at Fraunhofer ISI - some are completing their theses, others are starting afresh on the doctoral program.

Here we would like to introduce some of the current doctoral students:

  • Şirin Alibaş

    Şirin Alibaş

    Şirin joined Fraunhofer ISI in October 2020 as a research associate and doctoral student in the Competence Center Energy Technology and Energy Systems. In her doctoral thesis, she is investigating the economics and role of heat pumps in European buildings, taking into account regional, temporal, and building-specific characteristics that affect heating costs for end users. The development of the regional building stock model is a key component of her thesis. She holds a bachelor's degree in chemical engineering and an MSc. in Sustainable Systems Engineering from the University of Freiburg. Her thesis is being supervised at the University of Freiburg.

    Supervising University

    University of Freiburg

  • Denilton Luiz Darold

    Denilton Luiz Darold

    Denilton works in the Competence Center Innovation and Knowledge Economy in the Business Unit Innovation Trends and Science Studies. His thesis explores the emergence of data-driven innovation, its identification, and how it influences firms' creation, performance, and science-industry linkage. Previous studies addressed mainly the data market and data economy sizing, but the microanalysis on the type of innovations, concerning a taxonomy of these products and services, its developing process, and how it reflects on the new firms and its linkage to science, is still missing. Thus, this research aims to fill this gap by analyzing DDI under four domains: technology, data sources, value-proposition, and business model. Such an analysis will serve as the basis for identifying data-driven innovative firms and pave the way for automatic identification and linkage (networks) of these firms and eventual common data sources.

    Supervising University

    University of Hohenheim

  • Frank Ebbers

    Frank Ebbers

    Frank is doing his doctorate at the Goethe University Frankfurt. He has been working in the Emerging Technologies Competence Center in the Business Unit for Information and Communication Technologies since March 2019. His background is Business Informatics, which he studied at the Neu-Ulm University of Applied Sciences, as well as the University of Bamberg. He is very free in his choice of topics and deals with new technologies, such as blockchain, the Internet of Things (IoT) or smart digital assistants. In particular, he is currently researching ways to make it easier for end users to keep the firmware of their IoT devices always up to date.

    Supervising University

    Goethe University Frankfurt

  • Elisabeth Eberling

    Elisabeth Eberling

    Elisabeth has been working as a research associate and doctoral student at Fraunhofer ISI in the Competence Center Sustainability and Infrastructure Systems since 2019. Previously, she studied industrial engineering at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. In her thesis, she is researching digital eco-innovations and how they influence sustainable development. In order to assess this influence, she is developing a sustainability assessment that integrates the 17 Sustainable Development Goals and adds digitization-specific indicators. In two case studies, scenarios based on the future use of digital eco-innovations are designed and their sustainability is subsequently assessed in an iterative process using the developed methodology. The first case study is in the area of circular and digitized industry. The second case study will focus on behavioral change towards more sustainable behavior based on "better" information using digital innovations.

    Supervising University

    Berlin University of Technology

  • Hendrik Hansmeier

    Hendrik Hansmeier

    Hendrik has been working as a research assistant and doctoral student at the Competence Center Policy and Society since February 2019. Building on a degree in Geography (B.Sc.) from the University of Marburg and a degree in Economic Geography (M.A.) from Leibniz University Hannover and Jagiellonian University Krakow, he has since been conducting research primarily on the regional dimension of knowledge, innovation, and transformation processes in different spatial contexts. In his thesis, he is investigating regional sustainability transitions in Germany. Specifically, it addresses the questions of which actors (in the sense of organizations) are key drivers of sustainable change or environmental innovation, whether and to what extent the roles of actors differ between regions, and how this diversity of transition processes is most likely to be explained by spatial factors (for example, technological capabilities, regional knowledge bases, regulatory and political frameworks). The methodological basis of the thesis is systematic literature analyses, regression models and qualitative interviews.

    Supervising University

    Leibniz University Hannover

  • Konstantin Krauß

    Konstantin Krauß

    Konstantin joined Fraunhofer ISI in September 2018 as a research assistant and doctoral student in the Competence Center Sustainability and Infrastructure Systems. There, in the Business Unit Mobility, he focuses in particular on shared mobility systems (MaaS), their possibilities and implications for the transport system. Previously, he completed a bachelor's and master's degree in economics at the University of Hohenheim and at Aarhus University. The focus of his studies was econometrics as well as consumer behavior and technology management.

    His thesis aims at analyzing and modeling the use as well as the supply of shared mobility services as an integral part of the transportation system. In addition to the traffic behavior of individuals, the logic of business models for these services plays a crucial role. Using modal choice models, the decision of people regarding their desired means of transportation is simulated.

    Supervising University

    ETH Zurich

  • Sascha Lehmann

    Sascha Lehmann

    Sascha joined the Competence Center Energy Policy and Energy Markets at Fraunhofer ISI as a research assistant in March 2018 and as a doctoral student in March 2021. He is part of the Climate Policy Business Unit and focuses on CO2 pricing, especially in the European Emissions Trading Scheme (EU ETS), national schemes such as the national emissions trading scheme in Germany and also on CO2 taxes. Before he joined Fraunhofer ISI, he worked for four years at Stuewe Management Consulting in Cologne. In 2012, he completed his studies in economics in Freiburg with a diploma. The focus of his studies was empirical econometric research and social policy. In his thesis, he analyzes trading behavior of regulated companies in the EU ETS using trading data from the European Union Transaction Log. In particular, he focuses on questions concerning the efficiency of the EU ETS and in particular, company characteristics that influence the trading behavior of regulated companies. The focus is on the following questions: How do the characteristics of individual companies and institutional features of the EU ETS influence companies’ trading behavior? Which companies trade more successfully? How were intra-company trading options used? How do companies adjust their trading strategies when free allocations phases out? The questions are addressed using econometric data analyses.

    Supervising University

    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

  • Steffen Link

    Steffen has been working as a research assistant and doctoral student at Fraunhofer ISI in the Competence Center Energy Technology and Energy Systems since August 2020. In this capacity, he is investigating decarbonization in road transport in particular in the Business Unit Energy Economy. Furthermore, he deals with application scenarios and the development prospects of different forms of battery technology within the scope of various projects. He studied industrial engineering with a focus on vehicle and drive technology (B. Sc. and M. Sc.) at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. His thesis aims to model and optimize the interaction of in-vehicle battery storage and the charging infrastructure for heavy-duty commercial vehicles in Europe. In addition to the driving and usage behavior of the vehicles, the detailed technical consideration of the vehicle components (battery simulation, overall vehicle simulation) as well as the planning of the charging infrastructure play a decisive role. Using agent-based modeling, the decision of individual vehicle users (which battery size) and comparing them with the manufacturer's offer (which battery chemistry, which format, which module capacity) and the localization and dimensioning of charging infrastructure points (location, number, power) which will be modeled, simulated and analyzed within the framework of an optimization methodology.

    Supervising University

    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology – Elektrotechnisches Institut (ETI)

  • Meta Thurid Lotz

    Meta Thurid Lotz

    Thurid has been a research assistant and doctoral student in the Competence Center Energy Technology and Energy Systems since October 2020. She studied industrial engineering with the specialization "Energy and Environmental Management" at Flensburg University of Applied Sciences (B. Eng.) and the European University Flensburg (M. Eng.). In her bachelor dissertation as well as in her master dissertation she dealt with concepts for industrial transformation (industrial symbiosis, use of molecular hydrogen in the primary resources industry). In her thesis she investigates the potential contribution of material-based strategies toward the decarbonization of primary resource industries in the context of the circular economy. To this end, she is modeling an inventory-oriented material flow of the basic materials, steel and cement, for use in buildings. These are both quantitatively relevant and also with regard to emissions. In addition, she is quantifying the impact of measures in the context of the circular economy as well as selected policy instruments.

    Supervising University

    Utrecht University

  • Sabine Pelka

    Sabine Pelka

    Since September 2018 Sabine has been a research associate in the Business Unit Demand Response and Smart Grids in the Competence Center Energy Technology and Energy Systems. She is investigating approaches for integrating households into the energy system. Previously, she studied Systems Engineering, Policy Analysis and Management at Delft University of Technology. Her thesis focuses on the potential of households to contribute to a sustainable energy system sector with coupling technologies and small-scale renewable energy installations. However, due to lack of awareness and time and limited financial resources, actual participation is low. Private actors (for example, energy suppliers or aggregators) could support households, even with their limited resources (= at low transaction costs), to participate in the wider energy system. In her PhD, she asks how the contractual arrangements of private actors and the legal regulations of the energy industry contribute to the inclusion of households. Using a conceptual, empirical and model-based approach she investigates under which regulations the benefits for households and the energy system exceed the transaction costs of inclusion.

    Supervising University

    Delft University of Technology

  • Leon Rostek

    Leon Rostek

    Leon joined Fraunhofer ISI in February 2020 as a research associate and doctoral student in the Competence Center Sustainability and Infrastructure Systems. There he works in the Business Unit Raw Materials on the quantification of global and regional metal cycles. Before that, he completed a bachelor's and master's degree in mechanical engineering at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. In his thesis, he investigates the anthropogenic zinc cycle by modeling material flows and stocks. He follows a dynamic and multidimensional modeling approach, which integrates individual world regions into a superordinate global model. In addition, the interconnections of different metal cycles are modeled, in particular those of zinc with steel and with copper, to investigate resource efficiency from a multi-material perspective.

    Supervising University

    Clausthal University of Technology

  • Aline Scherrer

    Aline Scherrer

    Aline joined the Competence Center Energy Technology and Energy Systems as a research associate and doctoral student in October 2018. She studied Liberal Arts and Sciences (BA) with a focus on Governance in Freiburg and San Diego. In her subsequent Master's degree in Sustainable Development (MSc) at Utrecht University, she focused on theories of socio-technical transitions and innovations, using environmental and climate governance issues as a starting point. In her thesis, she is exploring how societal actors influence the interaction between alternative technologies and their diffusion through the case of zero-emission vehicle technologies. Here, she primarily examines the role of the media and strategies of firms and political institutions in both the car and truck sectors. Theoretically, the work is embedded in research on transitions to sustainability and socio-technical (innovation) systems. Aline uses methodologically integrative approaches, combining automated content analysis, survey data and qualitative interviews.

    Supervising University

    University of Sussex

  • Elisa Wallwaey

    Elisa Wallwaey

    Elisa has been working as a research assistant at Fraunhofer ISI since February 2019 in the Competence Center Policy and Society, Business Unit Societal Change and Innovation. She is primarily concerned with the evaluation of (innovation) policy measures and programs. Since November 2020, she has been working on her doctoral thesis at the University of Trier. She studied Social Sciences (B.A.) and International Criminology (M.A.). Before joining Fraunhofer ISI, she worked as a research assistant for the Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law on the WISKOS project; Economic and Industrial Espionage in Germany and Europe. This project also forms the background for her doctoral thesis which deals with illegal practices of knowledge leakage and the prevention of such incidents in small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in Germany. The data basis for this stems from an online survey carried out in the project, which will be linked with other data sources that allow, among other things, the linking of the the number of cases with questions of innovation intensity in individual industries. The linking of the different data sources and the subsequent analyses are carried out using the statistical software Stata.

    Supervising University

    University of Trier

Profile von Doktorand:innen

Jedes Jahr gibt es zwischen 40 und 50 Doktorand:innen  am Fraunhofer ISI – einige schließen ihre Dissertation ab, andere fangen im Dok-Programm neu an.

Hier stellen sich einige aktuelle Doktorand:innen vor:

  • Şirin Alibaş

    Şirin Alibaş

    Şirin ist seit Oktober 2020 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin am Fraunhofer ISI im Competence Center Energietechnologien und Energiesysteme. In ihrer Promotion untersucht sie die Wirtschaftlichkeit und die Rolle von Wärmepumpen in europäischen Gebäuden unter Berücksichtigung der regionalen, zeitlichen und gebäudespezifischen Merkmale, die sich auf die Wärmekosten für die Endverbraucher auswirken. Die Entwicklung des regionalen Gebäudebestandsmodells ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil ihrer Dissertation. Sie ist Chemieingenieurin mit Bachelorabschluss und hat den MSc. in Sustainable Systems Engineering an der Universität Freiburg erworben. Ihre Dissertation wird an der Universität Freiburg betreut.

    Betreuende Universität

    Universität Freiburg

  • Denilton Luiz Darold

    Denilton Luiz Darold

    Denilton arbeitet im Competence Center Innovations- und Wissensökonomie im Geschäftsfeld Innovationstrends und Wissenschaftsforschung. In seiner Dissertation untersucht er die Entstehung datengesteuerter Innovationen, ihre Identifizierung und ihren Einfluss auf die Gründung und Leistung von Unternehmen sowie die Verknüpfung von Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vorherige Studien konzentrierten sich auf den Datenmarkt und die Größenordnung der Datenwirtschaft, aber es fehlte bisher eine Mikroanalyse der Innovationsarten hinsichtlich der Klassifizierung dieser Produkte und Dienstleistungen, ihren Entwicklungsprozess und ihre Auswirkungen auf die neuen Unternehmen und ihre Wissenschaftsverbindungen.

    Diese Forschungsarbeit soll diese Lücke schließen, indem DDI in vier Bereichen analysiert werden: Technologie, Datenquellen, Wertangebot und Geschäftsmodell. Eine solche Analyse wird als Grundlage für die Identifizierung datengesteuerter innovativer Unternehmen dienen und den Weg für die automatische Identifizierung und Verknüpfung (Netzwerke) dieser Unternehmen und möglicher gemeinsamer Datenquellen ebnen.

    Betreuende Universität

    Universität Hohenheim

  • Frank Ebbers

    Frank Ebbers

    Mein Name ist Frank Ebbers. Ich promoviere an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Ich arbeite seit März 2019 im Competence Center Neue Technologien im Geschäftsfeld Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien. Mein Hintergrund ist Wirtschaftsinformatik, welche ich an der Hochschule Neu-Ulm, sowie der Universität Bamberg studierte. In meiner Themengestaltung bin ich sehr frei und beschäftige mich mit neuen Technologien, wie der Blockchain, dem Internet der Dinge (IoT) oder smarten digitalen Assistenten. Insbesondere erforsche ich aktuell Möglichkeiten, die es Endnutzern vereinfacht, die Firmware von deren IoT-Geräten stets auf dem aktuellen Stand zu halten.

    Betreuende Universität

    Goethe-Universität Frankfurt

  • Elisabeth Eberling

    Elisabeth Eberling

    Elisabeth arbeitet seit 2019 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin am Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung im Competence Center Nachhaltigkeit und Infrastruktursysteme. Zuvor hat sie Wirtschaftsingenieurswesen am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie studiert. In ihrer Dissertation erforscht sie digitale Umweltinnovationen und wie sie nachhaltige Entwicklung beeinflussen. Um diesen Einfluss bewerten zu können, entwickelt sie eine Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung, die die 17 Sustainable Development Goals integriert und um digitalisierungsspezifische Indikatoren ergänzt. In zwei Fallstudien werden jeweils Szenarien über den künftigen Einsatz digitaler Umweltinnovationen entworfen und deren Nachhaltigkeit anschließend mit der entwickelten Methodik bewertet, es handelt sich dabei um einen iterativen Prozess. Die erste Fallstudie ist im Bereich kreislauffähige und digitalisierte Industrie angesiedelt. In der zweiten Fallstudie wird es voraussichtlich um Verhaltensänderungen hin zu nachhaltigerem Verhalten aufgrund »besserer« Informationen mithilfe digitaler Innovationen gehen.

    Betreuende Universität

    Technische Universität Berlin

  • Hendrik Hansmeier

    Hendrik Hansmeier

    Hendrik arbeitet seit Februar 2019 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand im Competence Center Politik und Gesellschaft. Aufbauend auf einem Geographiestudium (B.Sc.) an der Philipps-Universität Marburg und einem Studium der Wirtschaftsgeographie (M.A.) an der Leibniz Universität Hannover sowie der Jagiellonen-Universität Krakau forscht er seither vor allem zur regionalen Dimension von Wissens-, Innovations- und Transformationsprozessen in unterschiedlichen räumlichen Kontexten. In seinem Dissertationsvorhaben untersucht er regionale Nachhaltigkeitstransitionen in Deutschland. Konkret geht es um die Fragen, welche Akteur:innen (im Sinne von Organisationen) zentrale Treiber des nachhaltigen Wandels beziehungsweise von Umweltinnovationen sind, ob und inwiefern sich die Rollen von Akteur:innen zwischen Regionen unterscheiden und wie sich diese Verschiedenartigkeit von Transitionsprozessen am ehesten durch räumliche Faktoren (beispielsweise technologische Fähigkeiten, regionale Wissensbasen, regulatorische und politische Rahmenbedingungen) erklären lässt. Die methodische Basis der Dissertation bilden systematische Literaturanalysen, Regressionsmodelle und qualitative Interviews.  

    Betreuende Universität

    Leibniz Universität Hannover

  • Konstantin Krauß

    Konstantin Krauß

    Konstantin ist seit September 2018 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand am Fraunhofer ISI im Competence Center Nachhaltigkeit und Infrastruktursysteme. Dort untersucht er im Geschäftsfeld Mobilität insbesondere geteilte Mobilitätssysteme (MaaS), deren Möglichkeiten und Implikationen für das Verkehrssystem. Zuvor absolvierte er ein Bachelor- und Master-Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität Hohenheim und an der Universität Aarhus. Fokus des Studiums waren dabei Ökonometrie sowie Konsumentenverhalten und Technologiemanagement.

    Die Dissertation setzt sich zum Ziel, die Nutzung wie auch das Angebot geteilter Mobilitätsdienste als integralen Bestandteil des Verkehrssystems zu analysieren und zu modellieren. Dabei spielen neben dem Verkehrsverhalten der Personen auch die Logik von Geschäftsmodellen für diese Dienste eine entscheidende Rolle. Unter Nutzung von Modalwahlmodellen wird die Entscheidung von Personen hinsichtlich ihres gewünschten Transportmittels simuliert.

    Betreuende Universität

    ETH Zürich

  • Sascha Lehmann

    Sascha Lehmann

    Sascha ist seit März 2018 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und seit März 2021 auch als Doktorand am Fraunhofer ISI im Competence Center Energiepolitik und Energiemärkte beschäftigt. Er ist Teil des Geschäftsfelds Klimapolitik und befasst sich schwerpunktmäßig mit CO2-Bepreisung, insbesondere mit dem Europäischen Emissionshandel (EU ETS), aber auch nationalen Systemen wie dem nationalen Emissionshandelssystem in Deutschland oder auch CO2-Steuern. Zuvor arbeitete er vier Jahre bei Stuewe Management Consulting in Köln. 2012 schloss er sein Studium der Volkswirtschaftslehre in Freiburg mit dem Diplom ab. Fokus des Studiums waren dabei empirische Wirtschaftsforschung, Ökonometrie und Sozialpolitik. In seiner Dissertation untersucht er anhand von Handelsdaten zum Europäischen Emissionshandels (EU ETS) das Handelsverhalten regulierter Unternehmen. Insbesondere Fragen zur Effizienz des EU ETS stehen im Vordergrund. Dabei werden Unternehmenscharakteristika, die Einfluss auf das Handelsverhalten der regulierten Unternehmen haben analysiert. Im Fokus stehen die Fragen: Welche Unternehmenstypen partizipieren häufiger und intensiver im Handelsgeschehen des EU ETS? Welche Unternehmen handeln erfolgreicher? Wie wurden unternehmensinterne Handelsoptionen genutzt? und wie passen Unternehmen ihre Handelsstrategien bei abnehmenden kostenlosen Zuteilungen an? Die Fragen werden anhand ökonometrischer Datenanalysen bearbeitet.

    Betreuende Universität

    Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

  • Steffen Link

    Steffen arbeitet seit August 2020 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand am Fraunhofer ISI im Competence Center Energietechnologien und Energiesysteme. Dort untersucht er im Geschäftsfeld Energiewirtschaft insbesondere die Dekarbonisierung im Straßenverkehr. Weiterhin setzt er sich im Rahmen verschiedener Projekte mit Anwendungsfällen und Entwicklungsperspektiven von verschiedenen Batterietechnologien auseinander. Er studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurswesen mit Schwerpunkt Fahrzeug- und Antriebstechnik (B. Sc. und M. Sc.) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie. Die Dissertation setzt sich zum Ziel, das Zusammenspiel aus Batteriespeichern im Fahrzeug und Ladeinfrastruktur für schwere Nutzfahrzeuge in Europa zu modellieren und optimieren. Dabei spielt neben dem Fahr- und Nutzungsverhalten der Fahrzeuge auch die technische Detailbetrachtung der Fahrzeugkomponenten (Batteriesimulation, Gesamtfahrzeugsimulation) sowie die Ladeinfrastrukturplanung eine entscheidende Rolle. Mit Hilfe einer agentenbasierten Modellierung soll im Rahmen einer Optimierungsmethodik die Entscheidung individueller Fahrzeugnutzer (Welche Batteriegröße) gegenüber dem Angebot der Hersteller (Welche Batteriechemie, Welches Format, Welche Modulkapazität) und zuletzt gegenüber der Lokalisierung und Dimensionierung von Ladeinfrastrukturpunkten (Ort, Anzahl, Leistung) modelliert, simuliert und analysiert werden.

    Betreuende Universität

    Karlsruher Institut für Technologie – Elektrotechnisches Institut (ETI)

  • Meta Thurid Lotz

    Meta Thurid Lotz

    Thurid ist seit Oktober 2020 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin im Competence Center Energietechnologien und Energiesysteme. Sie studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurswesen mit der Fachrichtung »Energie- und Umweltmanagement« an der Hochschule Flensburg (B. Eng.) und der Europa-Universität Flensburg (M. Eng.). Sowohl in ihrer Bachelorarbeit als auch in der Masterarbeit setzte sie sich mit Konzepten zur Industrietransformation auseinander (industrielle Symbiose, stoffliche Nutzung von Wasserstoff in der Grundstoffindustrie). In ihrer Dissertation untersucht sie den prospektiven Beitrag von materialbasierten Strategien im Kontext der Circular Economy zur Dekarbonisierung der Grundstoffindustrien. Hierfür arbeitet sie an einer bestands-orientierten Materialflussmodellierung der mengen- und emissionsmäßig relevanten Grundstoffe Stahl und Zement für die Nutzung in Gebäuden. Zusätzliche quantifiziert sie die Auswirkungen von Maßnahmen im Kontext der Circular Economy sowie ausgewählter Politikinstrumente.

    Betreuende Universität

    Universität Utrecht

  • Sabine Pelka

    Sabine Pelka

    Seit September 2018 ist Sabine Pelka wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Geschäftsfeld Intelligente Netze und Energiemanagement im Competence Center Energietechnologien und Energiesysteme. Sie untersucht dort Ansätze zur Einbindung von Haushalten im Energiesystem. Zuvor studierte sie an der Technischen Universität Delft Systems Engineering, Policy Analysis and Management. Zur Promotion: Mit Sektorkopplungstechnologien und Erneuerbaren-Kleinanlagen haben die Haushalte das Potenzial einen Beitrag zu einem nachhaltigen Energiesystem zu leisten. Aufgrund ihrer begrenzten Ressourcen Zeit, Geld und Aufmerksamkeit stockt aber die tatsächliche Einbindung. Private Akteure (beispielsweise Energielieferanten, Aggregatoren) können die Haushalte dabei unterstützen – auch mit ihren begrenzten Ressourcen (= zu niedrigen Transaktionskosten) – am Energiesystem teilzunehmen. In ihrer Promotion fragt sie wie die vertraglichen Regelungen von privaten Akteure und die gesetzlichen Regelungen der Energiewirtschaft zur Einbindung der Haushalte beitragen. Konzeptionell, empirisch und modellbasiert untersucht sie, bei welchen Regelungen die Vorteile für die Haushalte und das Energiesystem die Transaktionskosten der Einbindung übersteigen.

    Betreuende Universität

    Delft University of Technology

  • Leon Rostek

    Leon Rostek

    Leon Rostek ist seit Februar 2020 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand am Fraunhofer ISI im Competence Center Nachhaltigkeit und Infrastruktursysteme tätig. Dort arbeitet er im Geschäftsfeld Rohstoffe an der Quantifizierung globaler und regionaler Metallkreisläufe. Zuvor absolvierte er ein Bachelor- und Masterstudium des Maschinenbaus am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie. In seiner Dissertation untersucht er den anthropogenen Zinkkreislauf, indem Stoffflüsse und -bestände modelliert werden. Dabei verfolgt er einen dynamischen und mehrdimensionalen Modellierungsansatz, welcher einzelne Weltregionen in ein übergeordnetes globales Modell integriert. Zudem werden die Verbindungen unterschiedlicher Metallkreisläufe modelliert, insbesondere die von Zink mit Stahl und mit Kupfer, um Ressourceneffizienz aus einer Multi-Material Perspektive zu untersuchen.

    Betreuende Universität

    TU Clausthal

  • Aline Scherrer

    Aline Scherrer

    Aline arbeitet seit Oktober 2018 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin im Competence Center Energietechnologien und Energiesysteme. Sie studierte Liberal Arts and Sciences (BA) mit Schwerpunkt Governance in Freiburg und San Diego. In ihrem anschließenden Masterstudium in Sustainable Development (MSc) an der Universität Utrecht fokussierte sie sich ausgehend von Governance-Themen im Umwelt- und Klimabereich auf Theorien zu gesellschaftlichen Transformationsprozessen und Innovationen. In ihrer Dissertation erforscht sie anhand des Anwendungsfalls der Technologiekonkurrenz bei alternativen Antrieben, wie gesellschaftliche Akteure die Interaktion zwischen innovativen Technologien und damit deren Verbreitung beeinflussen. Hier untersucht sie vor allem die Rolle der Medien und Strategien von Firmen und politischen Institutionen sowohl im Pkw als auch im Lkw-Bereich. Theoretisch verortet ist die Arbeit in der Forschung zu Nachhaltigkeitstransitionen und sozio-technischen (Innovations-)Systemen. Aline nutzt methodenintegrative Ansätze und verbindet so automatisierte Inhaltsanalysen, Umfragedaten und qualitative Interviews.

    Betreuende Universität

    University of Sussex

  • Elisa Wallwaey

    Elisa Wallwaey

    Elisa arbeitet seit Februar 2019 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am ISI im Competence Center Politik und Gesellschaft, Geschäftsfeld Gesellschaftlicher Wandel und Innovation. Dort beschäftigt sie sich vor allem mit der Evaluation (innovations-)politischer Maßnahmen und Programme. Seit November 2020 promoviert sie an der Universität Trier. Sie hat Sozialwissenschaften (B.A.) und Internationale Kriminologie (M.A.) studiert. Vor ihrer Zeit am Fraunhofer ISI war sie für das Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches und internationales im Projekt WISKOS, Wirtschaftsspionage und Konkurrenzausspähung in Deutschland und Europa, als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin tätig. Dieses Projekt bildet auch Hintergrund für das Dissertationsvorhaben, das sich mit illegalen Praktiken des Wissensabzugs und der Prävention entsprechender Vorfälle in deutschen kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU) befasst. Die Datenbasis hierfür entstammt einer in dem Projekt durchgeführten Onlinebefragung, welche mit anderen Datenquellen verbunden wird, die unter anderem die Verknüpfung des Fallaufkommens mit Fragen der Innovationsintensität in einzelnen Branchen ermöglicht. Die Verknüpfung der unterschiedlichen Datenquellen und die anschließenden Analysen werden mittels der Statistiksoftware Stata durchgeführt.

    Betreuende Universität

    Universität Trier