Project

Ecological structural change

Strategies and recommendations for ecological structural change towards a green economy

Complying with our planet's ecological boundaries and pursuing global and national sustainability goals require deep transformation of existing supply and production structures. This project uses case studies and a broad industry screening to find out which economic sectors are under particular pressure to change and how to design policies for successful ecological structural change.

The project's objective is to find out which economic sectors are under particular pressure to change in terms of sustainability requirements, in order to shape the change here in good time. Another goal is to analyze the conditions and influencing factors for ecological structural change in more detail for selected cases and to derive recommendations how to shape this change.  

Identifying the economic areas that are under particular pressure to change from an environmental viewpoint is based on a broad screening of the literature that is translated into qualitative and semi-quantitative assessments. Fraunhofer ISI was additionally responsible for a quantitative assessment of the environmental impacts of all sectors of the German economy. This was achieved based on calculations using an environmentally extended multi-regional input-output database (EXIOBASE).

The concrete requirements of structural change are highlighted in case studies that deal with the automotive industry, the chemical industry and the second-life use of battery storage systems. The case studies are based on the analysis of literature and statistics as well as interviews of experts and stakeholder workshops. Fraunhofer ISI coordinated the case study in the automotive industry and made a significant contribution to the case studies of the chemical industry and battery storages. In addition, a literature-based evaluation of historical structural change processes shows which political, economic and social factors determine their course, and what lessons can be learned from this for policy making.

The results include recommendations for strategies and actions for the individual case study sectors - for both political actors and stakeholders in industry and society. Conclusions spanning the case studies concern the causes and drivers of change, show possible developments in the sectors, and derive generalized action and strategy recommendations for successfully shaping ecologically motivated structural change processes. The results were presented at a final conference in May 2020. The results of the case study of the automotive industry have already appeared in the ISI series of working papers “Sustainability and Innovation“. The final report is due to be published in summer 2021.

Duration

from 2018 until 2020

Client

  • Umweltbundesamt (UBA)/Federal Environment Agency

Project coordinator

  • Öko-Institut e. V.

Projekt

Ökologischer Strukturwandel

Strategien und Handlungsempfehlungen für den ökologischen Strukturwandel in Richtung einer Green Economy

Die Einhaltung der ökologischen Belastungsgrenzen der Erde und die Verfolgung der globalen und nationalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele erfordern einen tiefgreifenden Wandel bestehender Produktions- und Versorgungsstrukturen. Welche Wirtschaftsbereiche dabei besonders unter Veränderungsdruck stehen und wie der ökologische Strukturwandel politisch erfolgreich gestaltet werden kann, wird in diesem Projekt anhand von Fallstudien und einem breiten Branchenscreening untersucht.

Ziel des Vorhabens ist es herauszufinden, welche Wirtschaftsbereiche mit Blick auf Nachhaltigkeitserfordernisse besonders unter Veränderungsdruck stehen, um hier frühzeitig den Wandel gestalten zu können. Ein weiteres Ziel ist es, für ausgewählte Fälle die Bedingungen und Einflussfaktoren für einen ökologischen Strukturwandel genauer zu analysieren und Handlungsempfehlungen für seine Gestaltung abzuleiten.

Die Identifikation der Wirtschaftsbereiche, die unter ökologischen Gesichtspunkten besonders unter Veränderungsdruck geraten, basiert auf einem breiten Screening der Literatur, aus dem qualitative und semi-quantitative Einschätzungen abgeleitet werden. Das Fraunhofer ISI war zusätzlich verantwortlich für eine quantitative Abschätzung der Umweltwirkungen aller Sektoren der Volkswirtschaft. Dafür wurde mit EXIOBASE eine multiregional, um Umweltdimensionen erweiterte Input-Output-Datenbank herangezogen.

Die Erfordernisse des Strukturwandels werden konkret in Fallstudien beleuchtet, die sich mit der Automobilindustrie, der chemischen Industrie und der Zweitnutzung von Batteriespeichern befassen. Die Fallstudien basieren auf der Auswertung von Literatur und Statistiken sowie auf Interviews mit einschlägigen Experten und Workshops mit Stakeholdern. Das Fraunhofer ISI war federführend für die Fallstudie in der Automobilindustrie und hat an den Fallstudien zur chemischen Industrie und zu Batteriespeichern maßgeblich mitgewirkt. Außerdem erfolgte eine literaturbasierte Auswertung historischer Strukturwandelprozesse, die aufzeigt, welche politischen, wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Faktoren ihren Verlauf bestimmen und welche Lehren sich daraus für die politische Gestaltung ziehen lassen.

Die Ergebnisse umfassen Strategie- und Handlungsempfehlungen für die einzelnen Fallstudiensektoren - sowohl für politische Akteure als auch für Stakeholder in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Fallstudienübergreifende Schlussfolgerungen gehen auf die Ursachen und Treiber des Wandels ein, zeigen mögliche Entwicklungen der Branchen auf und leiten verallgemeinerte Handlungs- und Strategieempfehlungen für eine erfolgreiche Gestaltung von ökologisch motivierten Strukturwandelprozessen ab. Die Ergebnisse wurden im Mai 2020 auf einer Abschlusskonferenz präsentiert. Die Ergebnisse der Fallstudie zur Automobilindustrie sind bereits in der ISI-Working-Paper-Serie »Sustainability and Innovation« erschienen. Der Abschlussbericht wird voraussichtlich im Sommer 2021 veröffentlicht.

Laufzeit

von 2018 bis 2020

Auftraggeber

  • Umweltbundesamt (UBA)

Projektkoordinator

  • Öko-Institut e. V.