Project

TRADINNOVATION - Bioeconomy innovations in traditional sectors: the example of three innovation lines in meat analogues

 

 

 

The transformation process towards a bioeconomy cannot be limited to research-intensive sectors alone if the bioeconomy is to make significant contributions to overcoming challenges such as climate and environmental protection, sustainable resource use and food security. Transformation must also take place in traditional economic sectors, such as the livestock and meat sectors as part of the food industry.

A growing world population and increasing prosperity are leading to rising demand for meat and animal foodstuffs. An expansion of agricultural animal production would increase its negative effects on the environment, climate, animal welfare and human health. Therefore, meat analogues are being developed to provide high quality protein for human nutrition. Meat analogues are products that imitate meat and meat products as well as possible, but are not made from slaughter animals.

 

 

The project aims to deepen the understanding of innovation and transformation processes of the bioeconomy in traditional sectors from the interdisciplinary perspective of innovation research.

After a review of the state of research, three innovation lines with relevance for the livestock and meat sector will be investigated: i) plant proteins, ii) insect proteins and iii) cultured meat. These innovation lines are expected to provide meat analogues for the sustainable protein supply of a growing world population. Based on the analysis of the technological innovation systems (TIS) and their economic, ecological and social impacts, the interactions of the three TIS will be investigated and their functionality and problem-solving potential evaluated. Since the innovation lines are partly attributed with the potential to replace unsustainable structures and practices (exnovation) in the livestock and meat sector, the extent to which the sector integrates the innovation lines into its innovation activities or opposes them is examined from the multi-level perspective of transformation research. Options for action and recommendations for overcoming the weaknesses of the TIS, for realising the potential of the innovation lines and for shaping innovation and exnovation processes in the livestock and meat sector will be worked out. It will be examined to which extent the results and insights gained in the livestock and meat sector can be generalised and thus be fruitful for innovation, exnovation and transformation processes in other traditional sectors.

 

Publications

Duration

7/2019-6/2022

Client

  • Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

Partner

The project will contribute to an ongoing PhD work which is being supervised by Prof. Dr. L. Klerkx und Dr. B. van Mierlo, Knowledge, Technology and Innovation Group Wageningen University and Research, NL.

Webseite

Projekt

TRADINNOVATION - Innovationen in der Bioökonomie in traditionellen Sektoren am Beispiel von drei Innovationslinien zu Fleischanaloga

 

Der Transformationsprozess hin zur Bioökonomie kann nicht allein auf forschungsintensive Sektoren beschränkt bleiben, wenn die Bioökonomie nennenswerte Beiträge zur Bewältigung von Herausforderungen wie Klima- und Umweltschutz, nachhaltige Ressourcennutzung und Ernährungssicherung leisten soll. Die Transformation muss auch in traditionellen Wirtschaftssektoren erfolgen, wie z. B. dem Sektor Vieh und Fleisch als Teil der Ernährungsindustrie.

Eine wachsende Weltbevölkerung sowie zunehmender Wohlstand sorgen für eine steigende Nachfrage nach Fleisch und tierischen Lebensmitteln. Eine Ausweitung der landwirtschaftlichen Tierproduktion würde ihre negativen Wirkungen auf Umwelt, Klima, Tierwohl und menschliche Gesundheit verstärken. Daher werden Fleischanaloga entwickelt, um hochwertiges Protein für die menschliche Ernährung bereitzustellen. Fleischanaloga sind Produkte, die Fleisch und Fleischwaren möglichst gut imitieren, jedoch nicht aus Schlachttieren hergestellt werden.

 

 

Durch das Projekt soll das Verständnis für Innovations- und Transformationsprozesse der Bioökonomie in traditionellen Sektoren aus der interdisziplinären Perspektive der Innovationsforschung vertieft werden.

Nach einer Aufarbeitung des Forschungsstandes werden am Beispiel des traditionellen Sektors Vieh und Fleisch die drei Innovationslinien i) pflanzliche Proteine, ii) Insektenproteine und iii) cultured meat zur Bereitstellung von Fleischanaloga für die nachhaltige Proteinversorgung einer wachsenden Weltbevölkerung untersucht. Aufbauend auf der Analyse der technologischen Innovationssysteme (TIS) und ihrer wirtschaftlichen, ökologischen und gesellschaftlichen Folgen werden die Wechselwirkungen der drei TIS untereinander untersucht und ihre Funktionsfähigkeit und ihr Problemlösungspotenzial vergleichend bewertet. Da den Innovationslinien teilweise das Potenzial zur Ablösung nicht-nachhaltiger Strukturen und Praktiken (Exnovation) im Sektor Vieh und Fleisch zugeschrieben wird, wird aus der Multi-Level-Perspektive der Transformationsforschung untersucht, inwieweit der Sektor die Innovationslinien in seine Innovationsaktivitäten integriert bzw. ihnen Widerstand entgegengesetzt. Es werden Handlungsoptionen und Empfehlungen für die Überwindung von Schwachstellen der TIS, für die Realisierung der Potenziale der Innovationslinien sowie für die Gestaltung von Innovations- und Exnovationsprozessen im Sektor Vieh und Fleisch ausgearbeitet. Es wird abgeleitet, welche der gewonnenen inhaltlichen und methodischen Erkenntnisse verallgemeinerbar und somit für Innovations-, Exnovations- und Transformationsprozesse in anderen traditionellen Sektoren nutzbar sind.

 

Publikationen

Laufzeit

7/2019-6/2022

Auftraggeber

  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Partner

Im Rahmen des Projekts wird eine Promotion angestrebt, die durch Prof. Dr. L. Klerkx und Dr. B. van Mierlo, Knowledge, Technology and Innovation Group Wageningen University and Research, NL, betreut wird.