Project

Towards better monitoring innovation strengths, regional specialisation, and business trends in support of industrial modernisation in the EU (Monitoring EU Industry)

 

 

 

This project analyses qualitative and quantitative data from existing sources in order to provide an integrated view of industrial modernisation in Europe and how to improve the monitoring of industrial modernisation. The overarching goal of this project is to support the development of better information for policy-making.

 

 

In order to analyse the industrial modernisation the deployment of advanced technologies and services, regional specialisation and industrial cooperation will be set in the focus. Next to assessing data variables and indicators and methodologies, five case studies will be developed where combination of existing monitorings makes sense and provides an additional insight for assessing industry modernisation in comparison to those obtained from individual initiatives.

 

Based on the insights study provides recommendations on how the statistical and qualitative analysis should be better pursued in the future to assess industry modernisation and contribute to the development of better policies at regional, national and EU levels. Moreover, it contributes to a more integrated monitoring of the modernisation of the European industry by combining statistical indicators, data and related qualitative information that are currently available at the Commission services.

Publications

None so far.

Duration

12/2017-12/2018

Clients

  • European Commission, DG GROW

Partners

  • Idea Consult
  • Technopolis Consulting Group
  • CARSA
  • Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW)

Website

Projekt

Industrielle Modernisierung in der EU: Ansätze für ein besseres Monitoring von Innovationsstärken, regionaler Spezialisierung und wirtschaftlicher Trends (Monitoring EU Industry)

 

 

 

Die Studie untersucht inwieweit qualitative und quantitative Informationen zur Beschreibung der Modernisierung der europäischen Industrie vorliegen. Das Ziel ist es die bestehenden Monitoringsysteme zu industrieller Modernisierung zu verbessern und damit eine bessere Informationsgrundlage für politische Entscheidungen auf der EU-Ebene zu schaffen.

 

 

Im Fokus der Analyse zur industriellen Modernisierung in Europa steht der Einsatz fortgeschrittener Technologien und Dienstleistungen, die regionale Spezialisierung und industrielle Kooperation in den Mittelpunkt. Neben der Identifizierung geeigneter Daten, Indikatoren und Methoden werden fünf Fallstudien entwickelt, in denen Datenkombinationen existierender Monitorings sinnvoll ist und einen zusätzlichen Einblick in die Modernisierung der Industrie im Vergleich zu Einzelinitiativen bietet.

 

Darauf aufbauend liefert die Studie Empfehlungen dazu, wie die statistische und qualitative Analyse in Zukunft besser verfolgt werden sollte, um die Modernisierung der Industrie zu bewerten und zur Entwicklung besserer Strategien auf regionaler, nationaler und EU-Ebene beizutragen. Darüber hinaus sollen die Ergebnisse zu einem stärker integrierten Monitoring der Modernisierung der europäischen Industrie beitragen, indem statistische Indikatoren, Daten und damit zusammenhängende qualitative Informationen kombiniert werden, die derzeit bei den Dienststellen der Kommission verfügbar sind.

Publikationen

Noch keine.

Laufzeit

12/2017-12/2018

Auftraggeber

  • Europäische Kommission, GD GROW - Generaldirektion Binnenmarkt, Industrie, Unternehmertum und KMU

Partner

  • Idea Consult
  • Technopolis Consulting Group
  • CARSA
  • Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung (ZEW)

Webseite