Project

InnoA2_up: Innovative Use of Wasteheat using sewers for energy transport

Wastewater - a new energy option?

By use, water becomes wastewater. Whether it is showering, handwashing, washing or cooling processes in trade and industry: In many decentralized places, water is supplied with heat energy, which is discharged into the sewage system without being used or even actively cooled down. Municipal wastewater in the canal has a temperature ranging from 10 to 20 degrees Celsius over the course of the year. This temperature level can be increased by using decentralized heat sources, transported through the sewer and “downstream“ energetically used by heat consumers. The high efficiency of the approach results, on the one hand, from the utilization of waste heat, which would otherwise remain unused (or even actively cooled down), and, on the other hand, from the dual use of the existing sewer infrastructure, which acts as a heat transport pipeline.

The overall objective of this second project phase “Implementation planning for pilot plants for the innovative use and distribution of waste water via sewerage“ (InnoA2-up), is the detailed elaboration and evaluation of specific implementation options for flagship projects for the development of previously unused decentralized waste heat potential through heat transport and distribution to heat consumers in the existing sewer system.

The project builds on the results of the first phase “Innovative waste heat utilization through heat distribution via the sewage system - InnoA2“ regarding the basic feasibility, the effects of elevated temperature levels on the sewer and the requirements of required technical components such as heat exchangers, supply lines etc.

Figure 1: Utilization of waste heat through distribution via existing sewer systems

In the urban area of Luenen, Germany, the existing research results are to be put into practice on the basis of two options with very different boundary conditions, and the feasibility of both options.

The focus of the work of ISI is on the sustainability assessment of the project as well as on new stakeholder constellations and innovative business models. The later are crucial to support a successful market launch of the new approach as well as to contribute as a starting point for the implementation of fundamental transitions processes in the water industry.

Dual use of infrastructures can provide high resource- and cost-efficiency for heat distribution and provisioning. This enables to supply even areas with lower heat density with renewable heat that would otherwise not be exploited economically by heat networks. This supports the international competitiveness of German companies in the field of plant engineering and water technology.
For municipal companies in the field of wastewater treatment and sewer operation, the concept opens up new business areas. In addition to the technical feasibility and the sustainability assessment of the concept, the implementation in the Luenen model area is the focus of the project in a practice-oriented manner. This includes the preliminary design with cost calculation for the exemplary implementation of a pilot line.

Duration

01.09.2018 - 31.08.2020

Clients

  • German Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy

Partners

  • Stadtbetrieb Abwasserbeseitigung Lünen AöR (SAL) [Project Management]
  • Dipl.-Ing. Udo Schratz
  • University of Kaiserslautern
  • Department of Construction Management, Faculty of Civil Engineering
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Körkemeyer

Projekt

Innovative Abwärmenutzung durch Wärmeverteilung über die Kanalisation (InnoA2)

Abwasser - eine neue Energieoption?

Durch die Nutzung wird Wasser zu Abwasser. Ob beim Duschen, Spülen, Waschen oder bei Kühlprozessen in Gewerbe und Industrie: An vielen dezentralen Orten wird Wasser Wärmeenergie zugeführt, die bislang ungenutzt in die Kanalisation abgeführt wird. Kommunales Abwasser hat im Kanal im Jahresverlauf eine Temperatur zwischen 10 und 20 Grad Celsius. Dieses Temperaturniveau kann durch Nutzung dezentraler Wärmequellen erhöht, durch den Kanal transportiert und »stromabwärts« energetisch von Wärmeabnehmern genutzt werden. Die hohe Effizienz des Ansatzes resultiert einerseits aus der Nutzbarmachung von Abwärme, die sonst ungenutzt bliebe und andererseits durch die Doppelnutzung der bestehenden Kanalinfrastruktur, die als Wärmetransportleitung fungiert.

 

 

 

Übergeordnetes Ziel dieser zweiten Projektphase »Umsetzungsplanung für Pilotanlagen zur innovativen Abwasserwärmenutzung und -verteilung über die Kanalisation« (InnoA2-Up) ist es die detaillierte Ausarbeitung und Bewertung konkreter Umsetzungsoptionen für Leuchtturmprojekte zur Erschließung bislang ungenutzter dezentraler Abwärmepotenziale durch Wärmetransport und -verteilung an Wärmeabnehmern im vorhandenen Abwassersystem.

Das Projekt baut auf den im Forschungsprojekt »Innovative Abwärmenutzung durch Wärmeverteilung über die Kanalisation – InnoA2« gewonnenen Erkenntnissen hinsichtlich der grundsätzlichen Machbarkeit, der Auswirkungen erhöhter Temperaturniveaus auf den Kanal und den Anforderungen an erforderliche Technikkomponenten wie Wärmetauscher, Zuleitungen etc. auf.

 

Abbildung 1: Nutzung von Abwärme durch Verteilung über bestehendes Kanalsystem

Im Stadtgebiet von Lünen sollen dazu anhand von zwei Varianten, die sehr unterschiedliche Randbedingungen aufweisen, die bisherigen Forschungsergebnisse in die Praxis getragen und die Machbarkeit der verschiedenen Varianten untersucht werden.

Der Fokus der Arbeiten des ISI wird einerseits auf der Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung des Vorhabens resp. der zu untersuchenden Varianten liegen. Andererseits werden innovative Geschäftsmodelle entwickelt und hinsichtlich ihres Potenzials untersucht zur Unterstützung einer erfolgreichen Markteinführung des neuen Ansatzes ebenso wie als Ausgangspunkt für die Umsetzung grundlegender Transitionsprozesse in der Wasserwirtschaft beitragen zu können.


Übergeordnete Zielsetzung

Durch die Doppelnutzung von Infrastrukturen kann eine hohe Ressourcen- und Kosten-Effizienz für die Wärmeverteilung und -bereitstellung erreicht werden. Dadurch ist es möglich, auch Gebiete mit niedriger Wärmedichte mit erneuerbarer Wärme zu versorgen, die ansonsten nicht wirtschaftlich durch Wärmenetze erschließbar sind.

Dies unterstützt die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit deutscher Unternehmen im Bereich Anlagenbau und Wassertechnik.

Für kommunale Unternehmen aus dem Bereich der Abwasserentsorgung und des Kanalbetriebs eröffnet das Konzept neue Geschäftsfelder. Neben der technischen Machbarkeit und der Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung des Konzepts, steht praxisorientiert die Umsetzung im Modellgebiet Lünen im Fokus des Projekts. Diese umfasst die Entwurfsplanung mit Kostenberechnung für die exemplarische Realisierung einer Pilotstrecke.

 

 

 

Laufzeit

01.09.2018 bis 31.08.2020

Auftraggeber

  • Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie

Partner

  • Stadtbetrieb Abwasserbeseitigung Lünen AöR (SAL) [Projektleitung]
    Dipl.-Ing. Udo Schratz
  • Technische Universität Kaiserslautern
    Fachgebiet Baubetrieb und Bauwirtschaft, Fachbereich Bauingenieurwesen
    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Körkemeyer