Project

BMBF Future Food Commons (FuFoCo)

Sharing Economy in food system supply - new models of consumer-producer interaction, trends and impacts

The focus of this research project is the consumer area of nutrition. Changes in the area of new, flexible forms of consumer-producer interaction (KPI) are already emerging here, challenging traditional models of ownership and consumption.

The foresight process of the Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) showed that these forms of consumer-producer interactions are social innovations and that these sharing economy practices challenge the existing economy. While consumers in established systems are largely decoupled from production, the new sharing concepts present themselves as different constellations of KPIs, which are accompanied by shortening of the food chain, the application of sustainable production processes and the adaptation of production innovations. Models such as commons, community and rented gardens, or solidarity-based agriculture rely on new, flexible levels of interaction by involving consumers in the production process and the communal sustainable use and sharing of resources, especially land, labor, means of production, money, but also knowledge. In the context of a paradigm shift, these new sharing concepts can gain considerably in importance and entail significant potential, but also risks, for sustainable development, prosperity and quality of life.

The main focus of this project lies in answering the following research questions:

  • How can the new consumption and ownership models in food production be systematized?
  • What are the potentials and risks for sustainable development, prosperity and quality of life in the various KPI constellations in food production?
  • How do perspective development potentials present themselves under different scenario perspectives?

By a future-oriented view of the novel concepts of food production, potentials, risks and scope for design are worked out. In addition, management needs are identified to support the transformation process to sustainable management. The research questions are elaborated along the following four main areas of work:

  1. Characterization and systematization of consumer-producer interactions (KPI);
  2. Scenario drafts for the future of new models of food production;
  3. Assessment of innovation and technology impacts on sustainability, prosperity and quality of life;
  4. Control needs and models of internal and external governance.

The research results on novel concepts of food production will be prepared in a structured way and will be processed and made available to scientific experts as well as to practitioners and the interested public along the entire research project.

Fraunhofer ISI is leading the development of future scenarios of new models of food production in work package 2, with the aim of showing how the new consumption and ownership models in the food sector, which were analyzed in detail in work package 1, could develop in the long term and what implications the different development paths have for the socio-economic environment in urban and rural areas. The future scenarios provide a basis for deriving the opportunities and risks of flexible consumption and ownership models in work package 3 and for developing options for action for today in work package 4. At the same time, the scenarios form a catalyst for future-oriented discourses in which different groups of actors can discuss their expectations and develop a common understanding.

Duration

08/2015 - 07/2017

Client

Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

Partner

Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) e.V. (Koordination)

Homepage

Projekt

BMBF Future Food Commons (FuFoCo)

FuFoCo-Logo

Sharing Economy in der Lebensmittelversorgung – Neue Modelle der Konsumenten-Produzenten-Interaktionen, Trends und Folgenabschätzung

Im Mittelpunkt dieses Forschungsvorhabens steht der Konsumbereich Ernährung. Hier zeichnen sich bereits heute Veränderungen im Bereich neuer, flexibler Formen von Konsumenten-Produzenten-Interaktionen (KPI) ab, welche die tradierten Modelle von Eigentum und Konsum herausfordern.

Wie im BMBF-Foresight-Prozess herausgearbeitet wurde, stellen diese neuen Formen des Konsums »soziale Innovationen dar, deren Ausbreitung als Vorbote einer neuen Wirtschaftsform gedeutet werden kann.« Während Konsumenten in etablierten Systemen weitestgehend von der Produktion entkoppelt sind, stellen sich die neuen Sharing-Konzepte als unterschiedliche Konstellationen von KPI dar, die mit Verkürzungen der Lebensmittelkette, der Anwendung nachhaltiger Produktionsverfahren und der Adaptation von Produktionsinnovationen einhergehen. Modelle wie Allmende, Gemeinschafts- und Mietgärten oder Solidarische Landwirtschaft setzen auf neue, flexible Interaktionsebenen durch Einbeziehung der Konsumenten in den Produktionsprozess und die gemeinschaftliche nachhaltige Nutzung und das Teilen von Ressourcen, insbesondere Land, Arbeit, Produktionsmittel, Geld, aber auch Wissen. Im Rahmen eines Paradigmenwechsels können diese neuen Sharing-Konzepte erheblich an Bedeutung gewinnen und ziehen dabei maßgebliche Potenziale, aber auch Risiken für die nachhaltige Entwicklung, Wohlstand und Lebensqualität nach sich.

Im Mittelpunkt dieses Vorhabens steht die Beantwortung folgender Forschungsfragen:

  • Wie lassen sich die neuen Konsum- und Eigentumsmodelle im Bereich der Nahrungsmittelproduktion systematisieren?
  • Welche Potenziale und Risiken für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung, Wohlstand und Lebensqualität bestehen in den verschiedenen KPI-Konstellationen im Bereich der Nahrungsmittelproduktion?
  • Wie stellen sich perspektivische Entwicklungspotenziale unter verschiedenen Szenarioperspektiven dar?

Durch eine zukunftsorientierte Betrachtung der neuartigen Konzepte der Nahrungsmittelproduktion werden Potenziale, Risiken und Gestaltungsspielräume herausgearbeitet. Darüber hinaus werden Steuerungsbedarfe aufgezeigt, um den Transformationsprozess zu nachhaltigem Wirtschaften zu unterstützen. Die Ausarbeitung der Forschungsfragen erfolgt entlang der folgenden vier Arbeitsschwerpunkte:

  1. Charakterisierung und Systematisierung von Konsumenten-Produzenten-Interaktionen (KPI);
  2. Szenarienentwürfe zur Zukunft neuer Modelle der Nahrungsmittelproduktion;
  3. Abschätzung der Innovations- und Technikfolgen auf Nachhaltigkeit, Wohlstand und Lebensqualität;
  4. Steuerungsbedarfe und Modelle interner und externer Governance.

Die Forschungsergebnisse zu neuartigen Konzepten der Nahrungsmittelproduktion werden strukturiert aufbereitet und entlang des gesamten Forschungsvorhabens sowohl für wissenschaftliches Fachpublikum als auch für Praktiker und die interessierte Öffentlichkeit aufbereitet und zugänglich gemacht.

Das Fraunhofer ISI leitet die Entwicklung von Zukunftsszenarien neuer Modelle der Nahrungsmittelproduktion in Arbeitspaket 2. Ziel ist es, aufzuzeigen, wie sich die in den Arbeitspaket 1 vertieft analysierten, neuen Konsum- und Eigentumsmodelle im Ernährungsbereich langfristig entwickeln könnten und welche Implikationen die verschiedenen Entwicklungspfade für das sozio-ökonomische Umfeld in Stadt und Land haben. Die Zukunftsbilder bieten eine Grundlage für die Ableitung der Chancen und Risiken der flexiblen Konsum- und Eigentumsmodelle in Arbeitspaket 3 und die Entwicklung von Handlungsoptionen für heute in Arbeitspaket 4. Gleichzeitig bilden die Szenarien einen Katalysator für zukunftsorientierte Diskurse, in der verschiedene Akteursgruppen ihre Erwartungen diskutieren und ein gemeinsames Verständnis entwickeln können.

Publikationen

Laufzeit

08/2015 - 07/2017

Auftraggeber

  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Partner

  • Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) e.V. (Koordination)

Homepage