Project

Foresight on Demand (FOD) Impact of COVID-19 on European Consumer Behaviour - Foresight Study

The purpose of the study is to anticipate future challenges for consumer policy and to assess likely resilience of private consumption in the EU to future systemic disruptions and major economic shocks. In the project, the FOD team will combine literature and data-based information collection as well as expert input with perspectives from stakeholders and experts on consumer policy in order to develop alternative scenarios and analyse the respective challenges for consumer rights and protection. A special focus will be on the relation of consumer behaviour, rights, and markets to the Green Deal and the Digital Agenda. Furthermore, a gap analysis will be carried out to be prepared better for mid- and long-term effects of the COVID-19 crisis on consumer behaviour and consumer markets as well as possible effects of other disruptions on consumption patterns and choices.

The aim is to give orientation for policy deliberation on the need for additional actions beyond the New Consumer Agenda. Furthermore, the Foresight activities will introduce additional capacity in consumer policy to cope with future challenges and bolster consumer resilience.

By combining scoping and scanning with scenario creation and gap analysis, the process will provide a forward-looking analysis of the possible medium and long-term effects of the COVID-19 crisis on consumer behaviour, consumer markets and thus inform a forward-looking and resilient policy response.

Specifically, the study will create alternative, plausible futures and use them to assess consumers’ behaviour and consumption patterns on two levels:

  • how consumers’ behaviour may adjust/stabilize post COVID-19 in the aftermath of the pandemic as regards post-COVID consumption patterns and preferences i.e. the transition to some sort(s) of ‘new normal’
  • how consumers response may react to other systemic disruptions in the future based on lessons learnt from the COVID-19 pandemic

Projekt

Foresight on Demand (FOD) Impact of COVID-19 on European Consumer Behaviour - Foresight Study#

Ziel der Studie ist es, zukünftige Herausforderungen für die Verbraucherpolitik zu antizipieren und die Widerstandsfähigkeit des privaten Konsums in der EU gegenüber zukünftigen systemischen Störungen und größeren wirtschaftlichen Schocks zu bewerten. Das FOD-Team kombiniert ein Horizon Scanning (Literatur, Datensammlung, Internetrecherche) mit Experteninput in Workshops, um aus der Perspektive von Stakeholdern und Experten für Verbraucherpolitik unterschiedliche Sichtweisen einzubringen. Daraus entwickelt das Team in interaktiven Workshops alternative Szenarien und analysiert die jeweiligen Herausforderungen für Verbraucherrechte und -schutz. Der Fokus wird auf dem Zusammenhang von Verbraucherverhalten, -rechten und -märkten mit dem Green Deal und der Digitalen Agenda liegen. Darüber hinaus wird eine Gap-Analyse durchgeführt, um besser auf mittel- und langfristige Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Krise auf das Verbraucherverhalten und die Verbrauchermärkte sowie auf mögliche Auswirkungen anderer Störungen auf Konsummuster und -entscheidungen vorbereitet zu sein.

Dadurch soll eine Orientierung für politische Überlegungen über die Notwendigkeit zusätzlicher Maßnahmen über die "New Consumer Agenda" hinaus gegeben werden. Darüber hinaus werden die Foresight-Aktivitäten zusätzliche Kapazitäten in der Verbraucherpolitik schaffen, um zukünftige Herausforderungen zu bewältigen und die Widerstandsfähigkeit der Verbraucher zu stärken.

#

Durch die Kombination von Scoping und Scanning mit der Erstellung von Szenarien und Gap-Analysen wird der Prozess eine vorausschauende Analyse der möglichen mittel- und langfristigen Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Krise auf das Verbraucherverhalten und die Verbrauchermärkte liefern und somit eine vorausschauende und belastbare politische Reaktion ermöglichen.

Konkret werden in der Studie alternative, plausible Zukünfte erstellt und damit das Verhalten und die Konsummuster der Verbraucher auf zwei Ebenen analysiert:

  • wie sich das Verhalten der Verbraucher in der Zeit nach COVID-19 in Bezug auf Konsummuster und Präferenzen nach der Pandemie anpassen/stabilisieren kann, d. h. der Übergang zu einer Art "neuer Normalität"
  • wie Verbraucher in Zukunft auf andere Störereignisse reagieren können, basierend auf den Lehren, die aus der COVID-19-Pandemie gezogen wurden