Project

HYPAT - Global H2 Potential Atlas

Sustainable locations in the world for the green hydrogen economy of tomorrow: technical, economic and social assessment of green hydrogen potential

The German Hydrogen Strategy published in June, 2020 shows that green hydrogen plays a crucial role in the transformation of industry, the transport sector and the energy sector towards sustainability and climate neutrality. Due to the limited availability of renewable energy sources in Germany, Germany will have to import a large share of the green hydrogen including synthesis products from regions in the world that are rich in wind and solar power in order to be able to meet its demand of hydrogen in the medium and long-term.

 

The "HyPat-Global H2 Potential Atlas" project, funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, is the first to comprehensively identify possible regions in the world for a partnership-based development of a future green hydrogen economy, taking into account the German National Hydrogen Strategy (NWS), the Paris Climate Agreement, and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the United Nations.

The central research questions addressed by the project are:

  • What environmental aspects and sustainability criteria must be taken into account in a global, green hydrogen economy?
  • How can the global potential of importing green hydrogen and synthesis products be economically measured and evaluated?
  • What potentials arise in a globally networked hydrogen economy for the production countries to generate added value, jobs and co-benefits locally?

 

 

  • In addition to a detailed survey of the global techno-economic potentials and analyzing hydrogen chains, including transport, the analysis also includes the symmetrical requirements of the partner countries.
  • These include the sustainable coverage of their domestic energy demand, achievement of their own climate goals using the economic development opportunities of a hydrogen economy, and compliance with specific sustainability criteria for the hydrogen economy in the partner countries.
  • Furthermore, these countries’ capabilities to build the capital- and technology-intensive plants will be analyzed (e.g. governance structures, access to capital, geopolitical stability).
  • The opportunities resulting for these countries will also be surveyed (e.g. impacts on local value creation, opportunities for capacity building) and acceptance and stakeholder analyses conducted.
  • The resulting supply of hydrogen and synthesis products will then be compared with the global demand of the importing countries in a further step of the analysis, and will provide a complete overall picture for the first time.
  • It is important to analyze how hydrogen markets can be established in the future and the market prices that can be expected for hydrogen.
  • Policy recommendations will be made for developing a sustainable import strategy for Germany.
  • An interdisciplinary team has been brought together to explore the different aspects in depth. 

 

Breitschopf, B.; Thomann, J.; Fragoso Garcia, J.; Kleinschmitt, C.; Hettesheimer, T.; Neuner, F.; Wittmann, F.; Roth, F.; Pieton, N.; Lenivova, V.; Thiel, Z.; Strohmaier, R.; Stamm, A.; Lorych, L. (2022): Import von Wasserstoff und Wasserstoffderivaten: Exportländer. HYPAT Working Paper 02/2022. Karlsruhe: Fraunhofer ISI (Hrsg.).

Thomann, J.; Edenhofer, L.; Hank, C.; Lorych, L.; Marscheider-Weidemann, F.; Stamm, A.; Thiel, Z.; Weise, F. (2022): Hintergrundpapier zu nachhaltigem grünen Wasserstoff und Syntheseprodukten. HYPAT Working Paper 01/2022. Karlsruhe: Fraunhofer ISI (Hrsg.).

HYPAT (2022):  Krieg in der Ukraine: Auswirkungen auf die europäische und deutsche Importstrategie von Wasserstoff und Syntheseprodukten. Impulspapier. Karlsruhe: Fraunhofer ISI (Hrsg.).

Wietschel, M.; Pieton, N.; Thiel, Z. et al. (2021): Importing hydrogen and hydrogen derivates: from costs to prices . HYPAT Working Paper 01/2021 (English version). Fraunhofer ISI, Fraunhofer IEG, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Lehrstuhl Umwelt‐/Ressourcenökonomik und Nachhaltigkeit.

Wietschel, M.; Pieton, N.; Thiel, Z. et al. (2021): Import von Wasserstoff und Wasserstoffderivaten: von Kosten zu Preisen. HYPAT Working Paper 01/2021. Fraunhofer ISI, Fraunhofer IEG, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Lehrstuhl Umwelt‐/Ressourcenökonomik und Nachhaltigkeit.

Duration

01.03.2021 until 29.02.2024

Clients

The project HYPAT- H2-POTENTIALATLAS is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research BMBF as part of the "Hydrogen Republic of Germany" ideas competition in the module basic research on green hydrogen.

The Project Management Jülich provides technical and administrative support for the HyPat project on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research BMBF.

Partners

  • Fraunhofer Research Institution for Energy Infrastructures and Geothermal Systems (IEG)
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (ISE)
  • Chair of Environmental/Resource Economics and Sustainability, Ruhr Universität Bochum
  • German Development Institute (DIE),
  • Energy Systems Analysis Associates (ESA²) GmbH
  • Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS)
  • Deutsche Energie-Agentur (dena)
  • Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Website

Projekt

HYPAT - Globaler H2-Potentialatlas

Nachhaltige Standorte in der Welt für die grüne Wasserstoffwirtschaft von morgen: technische, ökonomische und soziale Analysen zur Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen globalen Wasserstoffatlanten

Die am 10. Juni 2020 veröffentlichte Nationale Wasserstoffstrategie (NWS) zeigt, dass die Nutzung von grünem Wasserstoff eine zentrale Rolle bei der Transformation der Industrie, des Verkehrssektors und der Energiewirtschaft hin zu Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaneutralität einnimmt. Aufgrund der begrenzten Verfügbarkeit erneuerbarer Energiequellen in Deutschland wird Deutschland einen Großteil des grünen Wasserstoffes samt seinen Syntheseprodukten aus wind- und sonnenreichen Weltregionen importieren müssen, um mittel- und langfristig wesentliche Anteile der Wasserstoffnachfrage decken zu können.

Das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderte Projekt »HyPat-Globaler H2-Potentialatlas« identifiziert erstmals umfassend die geeignetsten Regionen in der Welt für die angestrebte partnerschaftliche Entwicklung einer zukünftigen grünen Wasserstoffwirtschaft unter Berücksichtigung der deutschen Nationalen Wasserstoffstrategie (NWS), dem Pariser Klimaschutzabkommen sowie den Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) der Vereinten Nationen.

Die zentralen Forschungsfragen, denen sich das Projekt HyPat widmet lauten:

  • Welche Umweltaspekte und Nachhaltigkeitskriterien gilt es bei einer globalen, grünen Wasserstoffwirtschaft zu beachten?
  • Wie lassen sich die weltweiten Potenziale des Imports von grünen Wasserstoff- und Syntheseprodukten wirtschaftlich erfassen und bewerten?
  • Welche Potenziale ergeben sich in einer global vernetzten Wasserstoffwirtschaft für die Produktionsländer, um vor Ort Wertschöpfung, Arbeitsplätze und Co-Benefits zu generieren?

 

  • Neben der detaillierten Erhebung der weltweiten techno-ökonomischen Potenziale und Analyse der Wasserstoffketten, einschließlich Transport, schließt die Analyse die symmetrischen Bedürfnisse der Partnerländer ein.
  • Letztere umfassen die nachhaltige Deckung der eigenen Energienachfrage, das Erreichen eigener Klimaziele unter Nutzung der ökonomischen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten einer Wasserstoffwirtschaft und das Einhalten spezifischer Nachhaltigkeitskriterien für die Wasserstoffwirtschaft in den Partnerländern.
  • Weiterhin werden die Fähigkeiten der Länder, solche kapital- und technologieintensiven Anlagen zu errichten, analysiert (z. B. Governancestrukturen, Kapitalzugang, geopolitische Stabilität).
  • Ebenso werden die sich für diese Länder ergebenden Chancen erhoben (z. B. Auswirkungen auf die lokale Wertschöpfung, Möglichkeiten des Capacity Building) sowie Akzeptanz- und Stakeholderanalysen durchgeführt.
  • Dem sich hieraus ergebenden Angebot an Wasserstoff- und Syntheseprodukten wird dann in einem weiteren Analyseschritt die weltweite Nachfrage der Importländer gegenübergestellt und somit erstmals ein Gesamtbild gezeichnet werden.
  • Dabei wird Wert daraufgelegt zu analysieren, wie sich künftig Wasserstoffmärkte etablieren können und welche Marktpreise von Wasserstoff künftig erwartet werden können.
  • Daraus werden dann Politikempfehlungen bezüglich der Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Importstrategie für Deutschland abgegeben.
  • Um die verschiedenen Aspekte tiefgehend beleuchten zu können, wurde ein interdisziplinäres Team zusammengestellt.

 

Kleinschmitt, C.; Fragoso Garcia, J.; Franke, K.; Teza, D.; Seidel, L.; Ebner, A.; Baier, M. (2022): Weltweite Potenziale erneuerbarer Energien. HYPAT Working Paper 03/2022. Karlsruhe: Fraunhofer ISI (Hrsg.).

Breitschopf, B.; Thomann, J.; Fragoso Garcia, J.; Kleinschmitt, C.; Hettesheimer, T.; Neuner, F.; Wittmann, F.; Roth, F.; Pieton, N.; Lenivova, V.; Thiel, Z.; Strohmaier, R.; Stamm, A.; Lorych, L. (2022): Import von Wasserstoff und Wasserstoffderivaten: Exportländer. HYPAT Working Paper 02/2022. Karlsruhe: Fraunhofer ISI (Hrsg.).

Thomann, J.; Edenhofer, L.; Hank, C.; Lorych, L.; Marscheider-Weidemann, F.; Stamm, A.; Thiel, Z.; Weise, F. (2022): Hintergrundpapier zu nachhaltigem grünen Wasserstoff und Syntheseprodukten. HYPAT Working Paper 01/2022. Karlsruhe: Fraunhofer ISI (Hrsg.).

HYPAT (2022):  Krieg in der Ukraine: Auswirkungen auf die europäische und deutsche Importstrategie von Wasserstoff und Syntheseprodukten. Impulspapier. Karlsruhe: Fraunhofer ISI (Hrsg.).

Wietschel, M.; Pieton, N.; Thiel, Z. et al. (2021): Importing hydrogen and hydrogen derivates: from costs to prices . HYPAT Working Paper 01/2021 (English version). Fraunhofer ISI, Fraunhofer IEG, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Lehrstuhl Umwelt‐/Ressourcenökonomik und Nachhaltigkeit.

Wietschel, M.; Pieton, N.; Thiel, Z. et al. (2021): Import von Wasserstoff und Wasserstoffderivaten: von Kosten zu Preisen. HYPAT Working Paper 01/2021. Fraunhofer ISI, Fraunhofer IEG, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Lehrstuhl Umwelt‐/Ressourcenökonomik und Nachhaltigkeit.

Laufzeit

01.03.2021 bis 29.02.2024

Auftraggeber

  • Das Projekt HYPAT- H2-POTENTIALATLAS - wird im Rahmen des Ideenwettbewerbs »Wasserstoffrepublik Deutschland« im Modul Grundlagenforschung Grüner Wasserstoff vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung BMBF gefördert.
  • Der Projektträger Jülich betreut das Projekt HYPAT im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung BMBF fachlich und administrativ.

Partner

  • Fraunhofer-Einrichtung für Energieinfrastrukturen und Geothermie IEG
  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme ISE
  • Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik DIE
  • Lehrstuhl für Umwelt-/ Ressourcenökonomik und Nachhaltigkeit, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
  • Institut für transformative Nachhaltigkeitsforschung (IASS)
  • Energy Systems Analysis Associates (ESA²) GmbH
  • Deutsche Energie-Agentur (dena)
  • Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Webseite