Project

Conserving resources in the health sector

The exploitation of synergies between different fields of policy and the reduction of conflicting targets are important activities in the German resource efficiency program (ProgRess). So far, there has only been a rudimentary examination of where the health sector intersects with the topic of conserving resources. This research project’s objective is to exploit synergies and potentials between the policy fields of resource conservation and health. The project is commissioned by the German Environment Agency and develops strategic fields of activity and options to address the topic “Conserving resources in the health sector”.

To tackle this topic successfully, extensive knowledge of resource efficiency must be combined with detailed knowledge about the structures and actors of the German health system. The project applies a mix of methods. Apart from desk research, the core elements here include model-based quantitative analyses based on extended multi-regional input-output tables, expert interviews, an online survey as well as workshops with stakeholders. The main work steps are:

  • Quantitative analysis of resource consumption in Germany’s health system;
  • Identification and characterization of the stakeholders relevant for using resources more efficiently in the German health system;
  • Identification and presentation of best-practice examples for conserving resources in the health system;
  • Identification of fields in the health system that are important for reducing resource consumption and deriving fields of activity and options (including the relevant actors groups) to lower resource consumption in the health system;
  • Deriving policy recommendations and suggestions for further research required.

The research in this project will break new ground in terms of content because so far there has been no systematic examination of how the health sector intersects with the topic of resource consumption.

The results of the quantitative analysis of the direct and indirect resource consumption of the health sector are already available. They show, that the German health sector accounts for approximately 100 million tons annually in raw material consumption (RMC). After all, this equals about 5 % of Germany’s total raw material consumption.

The stakeholder analysis captures structures and institutions of Germany’s health system. At the heart of the analysis are the actual inpatient and outpatient health care services. The input sectors, however, are also very important for understanding the resource consumption. According to the calculations by Fraunhofer ISI, the chemicals sector (i. a. pharmaceuticals), food and drinks, energy, construction activities and medical technology products are of particular relevance. Preliminary insights from the stakeholder analyses begin to show that there are already several actors in the German health sector, who are active in the field of environmental and resource protection. But generally, the significance of this topic is still rather low, and so is the degree to which these actors are cross-linked with environmental and resource protection policy.

The results are highly relevant for policy making because they identify future fields of activity at the intersection between resource efficiency and health policy.

Duration

27 June 2017 - 30 June 2020

Client

The project is commissioned by the German Environment Agency (UBA) and financed with funds from the German Federal Government.

Project coordinator

Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI, Germany

Projekt

Ressourcenschonung im Gesundheitssektor – Erschließung von Synergien zwischen den Politikfeldern Ressourcenschonung und Gesundheit

Wichtiges Handlungsfeld im deutschen Ressourceneffizienzprogramm (ProgRess) ist die Erschließung von Synergien zwischen verschiedenen Politikfeldern und der Abbau von Zielkonflikten. Der Gesundheitssektor wurde bisher nur rudimentär auf die Schnittstellen zum Themenfeld Ressourcenschonung hin untersucht. Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist die Erschließung von Synergien und Potenzialen zwischen den Politikfeldern Ressourcenschonung und Gesundheit. Das Vorhaben wird im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamts (UBA) durchgeführt und erarbeitet strategische Handlungsfelder und Handlungsoptionen für das Themenfeld »Ressourcenschonung im Gesundheitssektor«.

Hervorragende Kenntnisse der Ressourceneffizienz sowie der Strukturen und Akteure des deutschen Gesundheitswesens müssen für die erfolgreiche Bearbeitung kombiniert werden. Zur Bearbeitung der Fragestellung kommt ein Methoden-Mix zum Einsatz. Kernelemente sind neben Desk Research modellbasierte quantitative Analysen auf der Basis erweiterter, multi-regionaler Input-Output-Tabellen, Experteninterviews, eine Onlinebefragung sowie Workshops mit Stakeholdern. Zentrale Arbeitsschritte sind:

  • Quantitative Analyse des Ressourcenkonsums im deutschen Gesundheitssektor;
  • Identifizierung und Charakterisierung von Stakeholdern, die für eine effizientere Nutzung von Ressourcen im deutschen Gesundheitssystem von Bedeutung sind;
  • Identifizierung und Darstellung von Best-Practice-Beispielen für eine gute Ressourcenschonung im Gesundheitssektor;
  • Identifizierung von Bereichen im Gesundheitssektor, die für eine Verringerung des Ressourcenkonsums von Bedeutung sind, sowie Ableitung von Handlungsfeldern und -optionen (inkl. der relevanten Akteursgruppen) zur Verringerung des Ressourcenverbrauchs im Gesundheitssektor;
  • Ableitung von Resümee, Politikempfehlungen und weiterem Forschungsbedarf.

Mit den wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten wird inhaltlich Neuland betreten, da der Gesundheitssektor bisher nicht systematisch auf die Schnittstellen zum Themenfeld Ressourcenschonung hin untersucht wurde.

Für die quantitative Analyse des direkten und indirekten Ressourcenkonsums im deutschen Gesundheitssektor liegen bereits Ergebnisse vor. Auf den deutschen Gesundheitssektor entfällt demnach jährlich ein Rohstoffkonsum (RMC, raw material consumption) von rund 100 Millionen Tonnen. Dieses sind immerhin rund 5 Prozent des gesamten deutschen Rohstoffkonsums.

In einer Stakeholder-Analyse werden Strukturen und Institutionen des Gesundheitssystems in Deutschland erfasst. Im Kern steht der eigentliche Gesundheitssektor mit der stationären und ambulanten Leistungserbringung. Die Vorleistungsstufen sind jedoch für die Analyse des Ressourcenkonsums ebenfalls sehr wichtig. Den Berechnungen des Fraunhofer ISI zufolge fallen dabei vor allem die Sektoren Chemikalien (unter anderem Pharmazeutika), Nahrungsmittel und Getränke, Energie, Bautätigkeiten und medizintechnische Geräte ins Gewicht. In den Stakeholder-Analysen zeichnet sich ab, dass es im deutschen Gesundheitssektor bereits einige Akteure gibt, die für das Thema Umwelt- beziehungsweise Ressourcenschonung engagiert sind. In der Breite ist der Stellenwert des Themas jedoch eher gering, ebenso wie die Vernetzung mit der Umwelt- bzw. Ressourcenschutz-Politik.

Die Ergebnisse des Forschungsvorhabens sind von hoher Politikrelevanz, da künftige Handlungsfelder an der Schnittstelle zwischen Ressourceneffizienz- und Gesundheitspolitik identifiziert werden.

Laufzeit

27.6.2017 – 30.6.2020

Auftraggeber

Dieses Vorhaben wird im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamtes im Rahmen des Umweltforschungsplans – Forschungskennzahl 3717 31 104 0 – erstellt und mit Bundesmitteln finanziert.

Projektkoordinator

Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI, Deutschland