Project

European Rail Freight Corridors going Carbon Neutral (LowCarb RFC)

The LowCarb-RFC study is motivated by a number of research projects, all of which are missing to touch the core of the problem of transport mode shift to rail: (1) What do these enormous changes really mean for regions and their transport systems and (2) Whether and how can we reform current institutions to undertake the necessary action. The study investigates these issues for two European rail freight corridors and the German State of North-Rhine-Westphalia using three different transport and sustainability models, reviews of institutional reform processes inside and outside transport, and by running a stakeholder participation platform for transport companies, shippers, forwarding industries and policy. The study is co-funded by the Mercator Foundation in co-operation with the European Climate Foundation from 2015 to 2018.

The LowCarb-RFC study is motivated by a number of research projects funded by the European Commission. All of these studies investigate ambitious scenarios for shifting transport demand from road to rail for better quality of life, energy efficiency and greenhouse gas reduction. However, all of these studies remain with rather general recommendations and solutions without really touching the core of the problem: (1) What do these enormous changes really mean for regions and their transport systems and (2) Whether and how can we reform current institutions to undertake the necessary action. This study seeks to answer both of the questions at the example of major European port hinterland flows crossing the German state of Northrhine-Westphalia (NRW).

To approach the fundamental questions on how to reform the transport sector towards more sustainability, and thus to comply with the ambitious mode shift, climate and safety targets set by the European Commission’s 2011 Transport White Paper, the LowCarb-RFC study applies the following working steps and methodologies.

WP1 seeks for gathering and analysing the current state of research on future scenarios for visions in the rail freight sector on methods to assess and quantify these scenarios and on existing stakeholder discussion and dissemination platforms for rail freight solutions.

WP2 develops a baseline scenario which will most likely become real in case policy, technology and markets develop without major surprises. It will specify the various modelling tools which are used to assess transport market developments: the ASTRA system dynamics model run by Fraunhofer ISI and M-Five, the Logistics Chain Model by the University of Antwerp, the local logistics assessment method by Fraunhofer IML and other impact assessment methods required throughout the project.

WP3 develops the target vision and scenario for an international European freight market largely based on rail. This involves a complete technical and organisational modernisation of the rail sector, as well as a detailed concept for a supporting policy environment by 2050. The WP concludes with an environmental impact assessment.

WP4 delves into the very details how the Pro Rail Scenario can be realised by focussing on the major barriers towards rail and institutional changes. Short case studies of transition processes in other sectors are conducted, and in-depth consultations with railways, logistics companies, industries and policy bodies within the Stakeholder Participation Platform are performed to identify feasible transition pathways.

WP5 goes into an alternative scenario which investigates whether the sustainability targets are achievable despite a marginalisation of the rail freight sector. In this scenario, technical and organisational improvements of road transport, such as autonomous driving, larger vehicles, electrification or alternative fuels will be allowed to a high extent.

This final scientific step shall bundle the results of the Pro Rail Scenario and the Pro Road case and look at their implications particularly for the logistics infrastructure and markets in Northrhine-Westphalia (NRW). It explores investment and de-investment needs, environmental effects and social impacts in the road haulage, railway and inland navigation sector.

Stakeholder Participation Platform. This work package supports all other activities in the project by enabling continuous discussions with relevant stakeholders from railways and goods forwarding industry. A bi-directional flow of inputs questions, suggestions and comments together with confidential discussions in small groups shall ensure that both, science and practice, are benefiting from an open and honest exchange of relevant thoughts and facts. The Stakeholder Participation Platform is run by project partner Transport and Environment (T&E).

Publications

The LowCarb-RFC research project consists of three thematic streams. Out of these a total of nine working papers and three summary reports are issued.

Overview and Summary Reports

Abstract: Improved competitiveness of the railways requires solving the double challenge of earlier and more extensive liberalisation of road haulage and the dominant role of the incumbents in rail freight. Rail freight growth requires the reform of complex internal structures, long decision pathways and overcast expectations towards rail. This requires changes in the organisation and institutional setting of rail freight together with infrastructure expansion, digitalisation and modernisation. We find that current institutional design and adaptation efforts of incumbents, while introducing major change, remain distant from their final customers. Deeper institutional reform processes, as planned for DB Cargo, would require more political pressure in order to materialise.In the longer term new operators could improve rail’s competitiveness with respect to road. Success factors include equivalent working conditions, across modes, standardisation of rail systems and innovation support. A survey of business models in other sectors finds common developments including predictive logistics, use- and results-oriented product service systems, horizontal cooperation and bundling. These may well complement traditional company strategies.

Abstract: This second summary report of the study LowCarb-RFC presents extreme scenarios for cost cuts in rail freight and for the electrification of road haulage for two European freight corridors by 2050. The scenarios Pro Rail for competitive freight railways and Pro Road for greenhouse gas neutral road transports aim at quantifying the potential contributions of these two respective directions of transport and climate policy to climate protection and sustainability. Pro Rail drafts a future, in which rail transport costs decline by 66 per cent through regulatory frameworks, entrepreneurial measures and the consequent application of digitalisation and automation. At the same time, road haulage costs increase by 25 per cent through taxes, charges and regulation. In contrast, Pro Road describes a future in which road transport operates carbon neutral through overhead wires, batteries and fuel cells. The market share of the railway triples in the Pro Rail scenario against the reference case in the year 2050. This is partly at the expense of trucks, but also at the expense of inland shipping. Along the Rhine-Alpine-Corridor 2050, GHG emissions decline from 60 Mt to 35 Mt CO2-equivalents in the Pro Rail scenario and to 22 Mt in the Pro Road scenario. Through the combination of both measures, a further reduction to 16 Mt would be feasible. As both of these extreme scenarios are unlikely to be realised, climate policy needs to exploit the full emission reduction potentials in all modes.

  • Summary Report 3: Policy and business - how rail can contribute to meet transport climate targets in the freight sector (all partners, October 2018, planned).

Thematic stream 2: Scenarios and Results for European Corridors

Thematic stream 3: Climate and Local Impacts

  • Working Paper 9: Local Impacts and Policy Options for North Rhine-Westphalia (Fraunhofer IML, Fraunhofer ISI, October 2018, planned).


 

Duration

01.09.2015 - 31.08.2018

Client

  • Stiftung Mercator GmbH

Partners

  • Fraunhofer IML

  • INFRAS AG, Schweiz

  • M-Five

  • T&E Transport & Environment

  • Universität Antwerpen

Projekt

Der Weg europäischer Güterverkehrskorridore zur Kohlenstoff-Neutralität (LowCarb RFC)

Die LowCarb-RFC-Studie baut auf aktuellen Arbeiten zur Verkehrsverlagerung im Güterverkehr auf die Bahn auf. Diese vernachlässigen sämtlich die Kernfragen hierzu: (1) was sind die tatsächlichen Auswirkungen auf Regionen und deren Verkehrssysteme, und (2) ob und wie sich die wesentlichen Institutionen fit für diese Aufgabe machen lassen. Die Studie untersucht dies für zwei europäische Güterverkehrskorridore sowie den Logistikstandort Nordrhein-Westfalen. Sie wendet drei unterschiedliche Modelle zur Verkehrssimulation und Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung an, untersucht institutionelle Reformprozesse innerhalb und außerhalb des Verkehrsbereichs und betreibt eine Plattform zum Wissens- und Erfahrungsaustausch für Vertreter der Verkehrsunternehmen, der verladenden Wirtschaft sowie aus der Politik. Die Studie wird von der Mercator-Stiftung in Kooperation mit der European Climate Foundation im Zeitraum 2015 bis 2018 kofinanziert.

Die LowCarb-RFC-Studie entstand aus aktuellen Studien, die von der Europäischen Kommission gefördert werden. Alle Studien untersuchen ambitionierte Szenarien, um die Verkehrsnachfrage von der Straße auf die Schiene zu verlagern, für bessere Lebensqualität, Energieeffizienz und die Reduzierung von Treibhausgasen. Alle Studien verbleiben jedoch mit eher allgemeinen Empfehlungen und Lösungen, ohne dass sie an den Kern des Problems heranreichen: (1) was bedeuten diese massiven Veränderungen wirklich für die Region und ihre Verkehrssysteme und (2) ob und wie können wir die gegenwärtigen Institutionen reformieren, um die erforderlichen Maßnahmen einzuleiten. Diese Studie sucht eine Antwort auf beide Fragen am Beispiel von bedeutendem europäischem Hinterland Transitverkehr durch das Bundesland Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW).

Um die grundsätzlichen Fragen, wie der Verkehrssektor reformiert werden soll, um ihn nachhaltiger zu machen und damit die ambitionierte Verkehrsverlagerung, Klima- und Sicherheitsziele, die das Verkehrsweissbuch der europäischen Kommission 2011 festgelegt hat, zu beantworten, wendet die LowCarb-RFC-Studie folgende Arbeitsschritte und Methoden an.

State of the Art Assessment: WP1 strebt an, den gegenwärtigen Stand der Forschung zu zukünftigen Szenarios für Visionen im Eisenbahnsektor von Methoden zur Bewertung und Quantifizierung dieser Szenarien und bestehenden Meinungsaustauschen der Interessengruppen und Verbreitungsplattformen für Lösungen zum Gütertransport zu sammeln und analysieren.

Models, Data & Projections: WP2 entwickelt ein Basisszenario, welches höchstwahrscheinlich Realität wird im Fall, dass Politik, Technologie und Märkte sich ohne große Überraschungen entwickeln. Es wird verschiedene Modellierungsinstrumente festlegen, die zur Bewertung von Entwicklungen des Verkehrsmarktes angewendet werden: das ASTRA System Dynamik Modell, geleitet vom Fraunhofer ISI und M-Five, das Logistik Chain Modell der Universität von Antwerpen, die lokale Logistik Bewertungsmethode von Fraunhofer IML und andere Bewertungsmethoden, die während des Projekts erforderlich werden.

Scenario Pro Rail: WP3 entwickelt Visionen des Ziels und Szenarios für einen internationalen europäischen Güterverkehrsmarkt, hauptsächlich für die Eisenbahn. Dies bedeutet eine vollständige technische und organisatorische Modernisierung des Eisenbahnsektors sowie ein detailliertes Konzept für ein unterstützendes politisches Umfeld bis 2050. Das WP schließt mit einer strategischen Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung.

Reforming Railways & Institutions: WP4 geht auf die Einzelheiten ein, wie das Pro Schiene Szenario realisiert werden kann, indem es sich auf die größten Hindernisse gegenüber der Eisenbahn und institutionellen Veränderungen konzentriert. Kurze Fallstudien zu Übergangsprozessen in anderen Sektoren werden durchgeführt und ausführliche Konsultationen mit der Eisenbahn, Logistikunternehmen, Industrien und politischen Organen innerhalb der teilnehmenden Interessengruppen Platform werden durchgeführt, um mögliche Übergangswege zu ermitteln.

Scenario Pro Road: WP5 geht auf ein alternatives Szenario ein, das untersucht, ob die Nachhaltigkeitsziele erreicht werden können trotz einer Marginalisierung des Schienengütersektors. In diesem Szenario werden technische und organisatorische Verbesserungen des Straßenverkehrs, wie autonomes Fahren, größere Fahrzeuge, Elektrifizierung oder alternative Kraftstoffe weitgehendst erlaubt.

Impacts on the Logistics Hub NRW: Dieser letzte wissenschaftliche Schritt bündelt die Ergebnisse des Pro-Rail Szenarios und des Pro Road Falls und betrachtet die Konsequenzen besonders für die Logistikinfrastruktur und Märkte in Nordrheinwestfalen (NRW). Er untersucht Bedarfe an Investitionen und De-Investment, Umweltwirkungen und soziale Auswirkungen auf den Straßengüterverkehr-, Eisenbahn- und Binnenschifffahrtssektor.

Stakeholder Participation Platform: Dieser Arbeitsschritt unterstützt alle anderen Aktivitäten im Projekt, indem fortlaufende Diskussionen mit wichtigen Interessengruppen von der Bahn und dem Güterkraftgewerbe ermöglicht werden. Ein bi-direktionaler Lastfluss von Input-Fragen, Vorschlägen und Kommentaren und vertrauliche Diskussionen in kleinen Gruppen sollen sicherstellen, dass Wissenschaft und Praxis von einem offenen und ehrlichen Austausch der wichtigen Gedanken und Fakten profitieren. Die Stakeholder Participation Platform wird vom Projektpartner Transport & Environment (T&E) geleitet.

Publikationen

Das Projekt LowCarb-RFC setzt sich aus drei Themenfeldern zusammen. Insgesamt werden hieraus neun Arbeitspapiere (Working Papers) und drei Summary Reports veröffentlicht.

Überblick und Summary Reports

Zusammenfassung: Bessere Marktbedingungen für die Güterbahnen bedürfen der Auflösung des doppelten Ungleichgewichts durch die frühere und entschiedenere Liberalisierung der Straße und die strukturbildende Rolle der Staatsbahnen. Neben positiven externen Faktoren benötigt ein Wachstum der Schiene die Auseinandersetzung mit komplexen Organisationsstrukturen, langen Entscheidungswegen und ideologischen Erwartungen an den Sektor. Dies braucht eine Veränderung der Organisationsstrukturen und Institutionen der Bahnen zusätzlich zu Kapazitätserweiterung, Digitalisierung und Modernisierung. Jedoch bleiben selbst weitgehende institutionelle Reformprozesse meist marktfern. Dringend benötigte, tiefere institutionelle Design- und Anpassungsprozesse wie von DB Cargo anvisiert finden jedoch nur unter massivem externen Druck statt. Mittelfristig können neue Akteure die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Bahn gegenüber der Straße befördern. Erfolgsfaktoren beinhalten gleiche Arbeitsbedingungen und Innovationsförderung. Über verschiedene Sektoren zeigen sich prädiktive Logistik, anwendungs- und ergebnisorientierte Produkt-Service-Systeme, horizontale Kooperation und Bündelung als geeignete Geschäftsmodelle. Diese können zusätzlich zum traditionellen Geschäftsmodell von Unternehmen Anwendung finden.

Zusammenfassung: Der hier vorliegende zweite Summary Report des Forschungsprojektes LowCarb-RFC stellt weitreichende Szenarien zur Kostenreduktion im Bahnverkehr und zur Elektrifizierung des Straßengüterverkehrs für zwei europäische Korridore bis 2050 vor. Die Szenarien Pro Rail für wettbewerbsfähige Güterbahnen und Pro Road für treibhausgasneutrale Straßentransporte sollen die grundsätzlich möglichen Klima- und Nachhaltigkeitsbeiträge beider Stoßrichtungen der Verkehrspolitik quantifizieren. Pro Bahn beschreibt eine Zukunft, in welcher die Transportkosten der Bahn durch regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen, betriebliche Maßnahmen sowie die konsequente Anwendung von Vernetzung und Automatisierung um 66 Prozent sinken. Gleichzeitig steigen die Lkw-Kosten durch Steuern und Abgaben um 25 Prozent. Pro Road beschreibt dagegen eine Zukunft, in der durch Oberleitungen, Batterie- und Brennstoffzelle der Lkw CO2-frei fährt. Der Marktanteil der Bahn verdreifacht sich im Pro Rail-Szenario gegenüber der Referenz 2050. Dies geht teilweise zu Lasten des Lkw, jedoch auch zu Lasten der Schifffahrt. Auf dem Rhein-Alpen-Korridor 2050 vermindern sich die THG-Emissionen des Güterverkehrs in Pro Rail von 60 Mt auf 35 Mt CO2-Äquivalente und in Pro Road auf 22 Mt. Durch eine Kombination beider Ansätze ließe sich eine weitere Reduktion auf 16 Mt erreichen. Da diese extremen Szenarien kaum umsetzbar sein werden, müssen die Emissionsreduktionspotenziale in allen Verkehrsträgern voll ausgeschöpft werden.

  • Summary Report 3: Policy and business - how rail can contribute to meet transport climate targets in the freight sector (alle Projektpartner, Oktober 2018, geplant).

Themenfeld 2: Szenarien und Ergebnisse für Europäische Korridore

Themenfeld 3: Klimawirkungen und lokale Beiträge

  • Working Paper 9: Local Impacts and Policy Options for North Rhine-Westphalia (Fraunhofer IML, Fraunhofer ISI, Oktober 2018, geplant).

 

Laufzeit

01.09.15 - 31.08.2018

Auftraggeber

  • Stiftung Mercator GmbH

Partner

  • Fraunhofer IML

  • INFRAS AG, Schweiz

  • M-Five

  • T&E Transport & Environment

  • Universität Antwerpen