Project

Preparation and analysis of German research reports on the indicators of research topicality and trends; sub-projects: Complementarity of policy programmes and research reports (TrenDTF)

In the TrenDTF project, topic-modeling procedures are will applied to texts of official tenders and policy documents. By comparing the topics identified in these complementary documents with those found in related research reports should provide information on the extent to which specific research programmes have contributed to the achievement of missions-related objectives in Germany's science and innovation policy. The project will develop and validate indicators to analyse the mission orientation of funding programmes on a regular basis. Based on the results of the topic modelling, moreover it will compare the "topic profiles" of research reports and related journal publications (as in the bibliometric database Scopus). On an aggregated level, it will thus be possible to determine to what extent the thematic orientation of organisations' research projects differs from that of their overall scientific publication output. Differences in these profiles can be interpreted as effects of either institutional funding or federal research projects.

The aim of the study is to assess the thematic complementarity of policy programmes, calls for proposals and project reports, in particular against the background of an increasing mission orientation in German research policy and the requirement to monitor its potential effects. In particular, it seeks to establish how and the extent to which indicators suitable to measure the achievement of mission objectives can be derived from topic-analyses of project reports.

The overall project has six work packages (development of indicators, database of tender texts, topic modelling, validation of new indicators, development of a discovery system and dissemination). Fraunhofer is involved in all work packages with the exception of the fifth (discovery system), with a focus on the fourth work package, the development and validation of new indicators. The project begins with a review of the literature, with an update to be planned towards its end. The development of a database of tender texts will begin subsequently and be completed after about six months. On its bases, topic modelling efforts will be started and continued with updates and extensions until the end of the second year. During its last year the project will focus on the elaboration of a case study, the validation of indicators and the dissemination of results.

Development of indicators suitable for the regular appraisal of funding programmes' mission orientation and the objectives reached by them, Development of a case study.

Duration

10/2019 – 03/2022

Client

Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

 

Partners

  • Leibniz Information Centre for Science and Technology (TIB), Hannover (Project Coordinator)
  • Fraunhofer IML

Projekt

Aufbereitung und Analyse der Deutschen Forschungsberichte zur Indikatorik von Forschungsaktualität und -trends; Teilvorhaben: Komplementarität von Politikprogrammen und Forschungsberichten (TrenDTF)

Im Rahmen des Projektes TrenDTF werden Topic-Modeling-Verfahren auf Ausschreibungstexte und Politik-Dokumente angewendet. Der Vergleich der so ermittelten Themen in diesen Komplementärdokumenten mit den Themen in den Forschungsberichten soll Aufschluss darüber geben, inwiefern die Forschungsprogramme zur Zielerreichung und zur Umsetzung von Missionen in der deutschen Wissenschafts- und Innovationspolitik beitragen. Es werden Indikatoren zur regelmäßigen Analyse der Missionsorientierung der Förderprogramme entwickelt und validiert. Darüber hinaus sollen Vergleiche der Themenprofile (Ergebnisse des Topic-Modelling) der Forschungsberichte und der deutschen Zeitschriftenveröffentlichungen in der bibliometrischen Datenbank Scopus durchgeführt werden. Auf aggregierter Ebene kann auf dieser Basis abgeschätzt werden, wie sich die thematische Ausrichtung bestimmter Forschungsprojekte vom wissenschaftlichen Publikationsoutput der betroffenen Organisationen insgesamt unterscheidet. Unterschiede in den Profilen können als Effekte institutioneller Förderung bzw. solcher durch Forschungsprojekte des Bundes interpretiert werden.

Ziel der Untersuchung ist die Bewertung der Komplementarität von Politikprogrammen, Ausschreibungen und Projektberichten, insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund der zunehmenden Missionsorientierung deutscher Forschungs- und Innovationspolitik, und der damit verbundenen Notwendigkeit der Messung ihrer Effekte. Zentrales Ziel hierbei ist es zu prüfen, inwiefern sich Topic-Analysen von Projektberichten zur Ableitung von Indikatoren zur Messung von Zielerreichung im Bereich missionsorientierter Politik eignen.

Das Gesamtprojekt hat sechs Arbeitspakete (Weiterentwicklung Indikatorik, Datenbank Ausschreibungstexte, Topic Modeling, Ableitung Validierung neuer Indikatoren, Aufbau Discovery-System und Dissemination). Fraunhofer ist dabei in allen Arbeitspaketen mit Ausnahme des fünften (Discovery-System) beteiligt, mit einem Schwerpunkt im vierten Arbeitspaket der Entwicklung und Validierung von neuen Indikatoren der Literatur steht am Anfang des Projektes, wobei gegen Ende des Projekts ggf. ein Update einzuplanen ist. Die Erschließung von Ausschreibungstexten beginnt darauf folgend und wird nach ca. sechs Monaten abgeschlossen. In Teilen parallel beginnt bereits das Topic Modelling und wird mit Updates und Erweiterungen bis Ende des zweiten Jahres fortgeführt. Im letzten Jahr folgen die Erarbeitung einer Fallstudie, die Validierung von Indikatoren  und die Dissemination der Ergebnisse.

Entwicklung von Indikatoren zur regelmäßigen Analyse der Missionsorientierung von Förderprogrammen und dem in diesem Rahmen erreichten Zielen, Erarbeitung einer Fallstudie.

Laufzeit

10/2019 – 03/2022

Auftraggeber

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

 

Partner

  • Leibniz Informationszentrum Technik und Naturwissenschaften (TIB), Hannover (Projektkoordination und Verbundleitung)
  • Fraunhofer IML