Project

Foresight Fraunhofer - Future topics with relevance to application-oriented research#

© Fraunhofer

On behalf of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, four institutes of the Fraunhofer Group for Innovation Research, have identified the most important future topics of applied research. In a foresight process, technological and societal developments were analysed with regard to their innovation potential and their relevance for applied research. Some spotlight topics such as geoengineering were discussed particularly controversially.

Which topics will shape research and society in the future? In order to find answers to this question, researchers from the Fraunhofer Group for Innovation Research have identified key issues for the future on the basis of broadly-based horizon scanning and evaluated them with a potential analysis. The so-called spotlights are divided into topics whose high relevance is already evident today (e.g. deep learning - artificial intelligence, biodiversity) and those which will develop dynamically out of their niches in the future (e.g. biohybrid technologies). What all 51 spotlight future topics have in common is that they are highly relevant for applied research. Some of them have the potential to create or change a new dynamic market, while others can have comprehensive social effects while the market relevance is still unclear.

A presentation on the methodical approach can be found here (in German only).

#

In the context of a foresight process, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has taken a systematic look into the future in order to derive strategic orientation knowledge from potential technologies and societal challenges and to foster the further development of the foresight methods at the same time. In addition to the systematic, very broad scanning of future topics, one special feature of this project is the comprehensive use of Fraunhofer expertise across all 72 research institutes. This means that it is significantly more extensive than in the case of previous foresight processes.

51 topics of high relevance to applied research in 2030 were identified.

  • We initially selected and analyzed these 51 topics through extensive research of international foresight studies.
  • Some 400 Fraunhofer experts then evaluated them in terms of their relevance to the future of research, the economy, and society.
  • The results were confirmed by 20 national and international experts from the fields of science and industry through interviews in a review process.

The survey results were used as the basis for identifying topics which will bring about fundamental changes and therefore require special attention. These topics include deep learningAI, re-economy and the use and maintenance of biodiversity. We additionally identified topics that are particularly dynamic in terms of innovation. Some of these topics, such as biohybrid,  water harvesting membranes, and pHealth, are already highly relevant to applied research today, while others are thus far niche topics that are developing dynamically and could therefore soon encounter broader interest. Many topics from this group are related to microelectronics, such as neuromorphic chips or quantum communication. The study also identified a further topic group with particular societal relevance. These topics, some of which are highly controversial, include geoengineering, civic technologies, and  reprogramming of human cells, for instance.

Further findings concerning the perspective development of the selected 51 topics can be derived as follows on the basis of the survey results: 

  • Numerous topics with a very broad impact on entirely different research and economic sectors could develop into key technologies.
  • Topics with converging technologies could dissolve the boundaries between areas of research and thus radically change the still predominantly disciplinary character of the sciences.
  • Topics with far-reaching, sometimes controversially discussed effects on society and the environment could significantly increase the need for governance processes and societal involvement in the development and introduction of advanced technologies.

We have designed the foresight process as a broad look into the future which particularly analyzes emerging technologies but also shows societal developments and the connections between the technical topics (technology, economy, and society). The results form a sound knowledge base and numerous starting points for further projects with specific questions with cooperation partners from commerce, politics, and the public sector.

Projekt

Foresight Fraunhofer - Zukunftsthemen für die angewandte Forschung#

© Fraunhofer

Im Auftrag der Fraunhofer Gesellschaft hat das Fraunhofer ISI zusammen mit anderen Instituten des Fraunhofer-Verbundes Innovationsforschung die wichtigen Zukunftsthemen der Angewandten Forschung identifiziert. In einem Foresight-Prozess wurden technologische und gesellschaftli­che Entwicklungen nach ihrem Innovationspo­tenzial und ihrer Relevanz für die angewandte Forschung analysiert. Einige Spotlight-Themen wie Geoengineering wurden dabei besonders kontrovers diskutiert.

Welche Themen werden Forschung und Gesellschaft in Zukunft prägen? Um Antworten auf diese Frage zu finden, haben Forscherinnen und Forscher des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Innovationsforschung auf Basis eines breit aufgestellten Horizon Scannings zentrale Zukunftsthemen identifiziert und mit einer Potenzialanalyse bewertet. Die sogenannten Spotlights gliedern sich in Themen auf, deren hohe Relevanz bereits heute ersichtlich ist (z.B. Deep Learning – Künstliche Intelligenz, Biodiversität) und jene, die sich zukünftig erst noch dynamisch aus ihren Nischen heraus entwickeln werden (z.B. biohybride Technologien). Gemeinsam ist allen 51 Spotlight-Zukunftsthemen, dass sie hohe Relevanz haben für die angewandte Forschung. Dabei haben einige das Potenzial einen neuen dynamischen Markt zu schaffen oder zu verändern, während andere umfassende gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen haben können und die Marktrelevanz hingegen noch unklar ist.

Einen Vortrag zum methodischen Vorgehen finden Sie hier.

#

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft hat im Rahmen eines Foresight-Prozesses einen systematischen Blick in die Zukunft geworfen, um aus potenziellen Technologien sowie gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen strategisches Orientierungswissen abzuleiten und gleichzeitig eine Weiterentwicklung der Foresight-Methoden zu fördern. Eine Besonderheit an diesem Projekt ist neben dem systematischen, sehr breiten Scanning von Zukunftsthemen die umfassende Nutzung der Fraunhofer-Expertise über alle 72 Forschungsinstitute hinweg. Damit ist sie deutlich umfangreicher als bei vorausgegangenen Foresight-Prozessen. 

Es wurden 51 Themen mit großer Relevanz für die angewandte Forschung im Jahr 2030 identifiziert. 

  • Diese 51 Themen wurden zunächst durch eine umfangreiche Recherche von internationalen Foresight-Studien ausgewählt und analysiert.
  • Anschließend haben sie knapp 400 Fraunhofer-Expertinnen und -Experten hinsichtlich ihrer Relevanz für die Zukunft von Forschung, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft bewertet. 
  • Die Ergebnisse haben 20 nationale und internationale Expertinnen und Experten aus Wissenschaft und Industrie in einem Review-Prozess durch Interviews bestätigt. 

Ausgehend von den Befragungsergebnissen wurden Themen identifiziert, die grundlegende Veränderungen mit sich bringen werden und daher besondere Aufmerksamkeit erfordern. Zu diesen Themen zählen beispielsweise Deep LearningAI, Re-Economy und die Nutzung und Erhaltung von Biodiversität. Darüber hinaus wurden Themen erkannt, von denen eine besonders hohe Innovationsdynamik ausgeht. Einige dieser Themen, wie etwa Biohybrid, Water Harvesting Membrans und pHealth, sind schon heute für die angewandte Forschung sehr relevant, während andere bislang eher Nischenthemen sind, die sich aber dynamisch entwickeln und daher bald auf ein breiteres Interesse stoßen könnten. Viele Themen aus dieser Gruppe haben einen Bezug zur Mikroelektronik, wie Neuromorphic Chip oder Quantum Communication. Außerdem identifizierte die Studie eine weitere Themengruppe mit besonderer gesellschaftlicher Relevanz. Zu diesen zum Teil sehr kontrovers diskutierten Themen gehören etwa Geoengineering, Civic Technologies und Reprogramming of Human Cells.

Weitere Erkenntnisse hinsichtlich der perspektivischen Entwicklung der ausgewählten 51 Themen lassen sich auf Basis der Befragungsergebnisse wie folgt ableiten: 

  • Zahlreiche Themen mit sehr breiter Auswirkung auf ganz unterschiedliche Forschungs- und Wirtschaftsbereiche könnten sich zu Schlüsseltechnologien entwickeln.
  • Themen mit konvergierenden Technologien könnten die Grenzen zwischen den Forschungsbereichen auflösen und damit die immer noch vorwiegend disziplinäre Prägung der Wissenschaften entscheidend verändern. 
  • Themen mit weitreichenden, teilweise kontrovers diskutierten Auswirkungen auf Gesellschaft und Umwelt könnten den Bedarf nach Governance-Prozessen und gesellschaftlicher Einbindung bei der Entwicklung und Einführung neuer Technologien deutlich erhöhen. 

Der Foresight-Prozess wurde als breiter Blick in die Zukunft angelegt, der insbesondere emergente Technologien betrachtet, aber auch gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen und die Verbindungen zwischen den fachlichen Gegenstandsbereichen (Technik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft) aufzeigt. Die Ergebnisse bilden eine fundierte Wissensbasis für eine Zukunftsorientierung und zahlreiche Anknüpfungspunkte für weitere Projekte mit spezifischen Fragestellungen mit den Kooperationspartnern aus Wirtschaft, Politik und öffentlicher Hand.