Project

Ecodesign Preparatory Study for Batteries

The Ecodesign Directive establishes a framework for setting requirements for energy-related products with the aim of ensuring their free movement within the internal market of the European Union.

Rechargeable electrochemical batteries are the first product to be the subject of a Preparatory Study, which is not included in the Working Plan. However, due to its actuality, the European Commission has highlighted the need for a Preparatory Ecodesign Study on "batteries". This study will examine the feasibility of Ecodesign requirements for this product group. Thereby, the focus is set on batteries for automotive and stationary applications.

 

 

The annual market volume for batteries (including lead acid, lithium ions and other batteries) is about 400-500 GWh and corresponds to about 45-60 billion euros. However, it can be assumed that the market will experience further rapid growth in the coming years. This development will be driven primarily by lithium-ion batteries and their use in automotive and stationary applications. More than 350,000 electric vehicles have already been produced and sold in the EU. This number is expected to more than double by the year 2020. Thereby, the production and operation of such automotive or stationary batteries is accompanied by a not insignificant demand for electricity.

The Ecodesign Directive aims to improve the energy efficiency of products such as batteries through a framework for setting requirements for energy-related products, while ensuring the free movement of such products within the internal market of the European Union. To prepare draft implementing measures for products under this Directive, the European Commission shall make a series of analyses and assessments, which are being called Preparatory Studies. The methodology of these studies is described in the Methodology for Ecodesign of Energy-related Products (MEErP).

 

 

This study provides the European Commission with a technical, environmental and economical analysis of batteries in accordance with Article 15 of the Ecodesign Directive 2009/125/EC. It is based on the MEErP and analyses the following areas:

  • Task 1: Scope (Definition, standards and legislation)
  • Task 2: Markets (Volumes and prices)
  • Task 3: Users (Product demand side)
  • Task 4: Technologies (Product supply side, includes both BAT and BNAT)
  • Task 5: Environment & Economics (Base case LCA & LCC)
  • Task 6: Design options (Feasibility and economics of design options)
  • Task 7: Scenarios (Policy, scenario, impact and sensitivity analysis)

Tasks 1 to 4 have a clear focus on data retrieval and initial analysis and Task 5 to 7 have a clear focus on modeling. It is prescribed that Task 1 to 4 can be performed in parallel and Task 5 to 7 sequential.

In addition to the preparatory study, the project covers the support to the European Commission Services:

  • on the impact assessment
  • in the drafting of the standardization mandate

 

The study was initiated in September 2018 and is expected to be completed by the end of 2019. Reports and other documents related to the study will be published on the study website at www.ecodesignbatteries.eu.

Publications

  •  

Duration

September 2018 to end of 2019

Clients

  • European Commission

Partners

Vito (Belgium)

  • The Flemish Institute for Technological research (Belgium) is a leading European independent research and technology organisation in the areas of cleantech and sustainable development, elaborating solutions for the large societal challenges of today. VITO’s research agenda tackles the major societal challenges we are facing today. VITO focuses on five different research programmes: sustainable chemistry, energy, health, materials management and land use.

Viegand Maagøe (Denmark)

  • Viegand Maagøe offers communication and consultancy services in the fields of energy, climate and sustainability for public and private organisations and companies. In recent years, VM has carried out 14 review or preparatory studies and 5 impact assessments for DG Energy, DG Growth and Joint Research Centre (DG Environment).

Projekt

Ökodesign Vorstudie zu Batterien

Die Ökodesign-Richtlinie schafft einen Rahmen für die Festlegung von Anforderungen an energieverbrauchsrelevante Produkte mit dem Ziel, den freien Verkehr dieser Produkte im Binnenmarkt der Europäischen Union zu gewährleisten.

Mit den wiederaufladbaren elektrochemischen Batterien ist zum ersten Mal ein Produkt Gegenstand einer Vorstudie, das nicht in dem Arbeitsplan aufgeführt ist. Aufgrund der Aktualität hat die Europäische Kommission jedoch auf die Notwendigkeit hingewiesen, eine Ökodesign-Vorstudie für "Batterien" durchzuführen. Diese Studie soll die Machbarkeit von Ökodesign-Anforderungen für diese Produktgruppe untersuchen. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf Batterien für automobile und stationäre Anwendungen.

 

 

Das jährliche Marktvolumen für Batterien (einschließlich Blei-Säure, Lithium-Ionen und anderen Batterien) liegt bei ca. 400-500 GWh und entspricht in etwa 45-60 Milliarden Euro. Es kann jedoch davon ausgegangen werden, dass der Markt in den kommenden Jahren ein weiteres rasantes Wachstum erfahren wird. Diese Entwicklung wird vorrangig durch die Lithium-Ionen-Batterien und deren Verwendung in automobilen und stationären Anwendungen getrieben werden. Bereits heute werden in der EU bereits über 350 000 Elektrofahrzeuge produziert und auch in gleicher Höhe verkauft. Diese Zahl wird sich voraussichtlich bis zum Jahr 2020 nochmals mehr als verdoppeln. Die Produktion und der Betrieb solcher automobiler oder stationärer Batterien geht dabei mit einem nicht unerheblichen Strombedarf einher.

Die Ökodesign-Richtlinie zielt darauf ab, die Energieeffizienz von Produkten wie Batterien durch einen Rahmen für die Festlegung von Anforderungen an energieverbrauchsrelevante Produkte zu verbessern und gleichzeitig den freien Verkehr dieser Produkte im Binnenmarkt der Europäischen Union zu gewährleisten. Zur Vorbereitung des Entwurfs von Durchführungsmaßnahmen für Produkte im Rahmen dieser Richtlinie führt die Europäische Kommission eine Reihe von Untersuchungen durch, die als Vorstudien bezeichnet werden. Die Methodik dieser Vorstudien ist in der Methodik für das Ökodesign energiebezogener Produkte (MEErP) beschrieben.

 

Diese Studie liefert der Europäischen Kommission eine technische, ökologische und wirtschaftliche Analyse von Batterien gemäß Artikel 15 der Ökodesign-Richtlinie 2009/125/EG. Sie folgt der MEErP und betrachtet die folgenden Bereiche:

  • Arbeitsschritt 1: Anwendungsbereich (Definition, Normen und Gesetzgebung)
  • Arbeitsschritt 2: Märkte (Volumina und Preise)
  • Arbeitsschritt 3: Benutzer (Produktnachfrageseite)
  • Arbeitsschritt 4: Technologien (Produktangebotsseite, beinhaltet sowohl BAT als auch BNAT)
  • Arbeitsschritt 5: Umwelt & Ökonomie (Basisfall LCA & LCC)
  • Arbeitsschritt 6: Gestaltungsoptionen (Machbarkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit der Gestaltungsoptionen)
  • Arbeitsschritt 7: Szenarien (Politik-, Szenario-, Wirkungs- und Sensitivitätsanalyse)

Die Arbeitsschritte 1 bis 4 haben einen klaren Schwerpunkt auf der Datenbeschaffung und Erstanalyse, während die Arbeitsschritte 5 bis 7 einen Fokus auf die Modellierung legen. Es ist dabei vorgesehen, dass die Arbeitsschritte 1 bis 4 parallel und die Arbeitsschritte 5 bis 7 sequentiell ausgeführt werden können.

 

 

Die Studie wurde im September 2018 begonnen und soll Ende 2019 abgeschlossen werden. Berichte und andere damit im Zusammenhang mit der Studie stehende Dokumente werden auf der eigenständigen Studienwebseite unter www.ecodesignbatteries.eu veröffentlicht.

Publikationen

  •  

Laufzeit

September 2018 bis Ende 2019

Auftraggeber

  • Europäische Kommission

Partner

Vito (Belgien)

  • Das Flämische Institut für technologische Forschung (Belgien) ist eine führende europäische unabhängige Forschungs- und Technologieorganisation in den Bereichen Cleantech und nachhaltige Entwicklung, die Lösungen für die großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen von heute erarbeitet. Die Forschungsagenda von VITO befasst sich mit den großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen von heute. VITO konzentriert sich auf fünf verschiedene Forschungsbereiche: nachhaltige Chemie, Energie, Gesundheit, Materialwirtschaft und Landnutzung

Viegand Maagøe (Dänemark)

  • Viegand Maagøe bietet Kommunikations- und Beratungsdienstleistungen in den Bereichen Energie, Klima und Nachhaltigkeit für öffentliche und private Organisationen und Unternehmen an. In den letzten Jahren hat VM 14 Überprüfungs- oder Vorstudien und 5 Folgenabschätzungen für die GD Energie, GD Wachstum und Gemeinsame Forschungsstelle (GD Umwelt) durchgeführt.