Project

Elaboration of Economic Indicators for Monitoring the Progress of the Bioeconomy (Bioeconomy-Monitoring)

This project is one of the three pillars of the German government’s bioeconomy monitoring. The objective of this project is to contribute to the development of the scientific basis for a long-term monitoring of the bioeconomy. By a continuous monitoring a knowledge base for political action and a public debate about the bioeconomy shall be created. To achieve the objectives of the National Policy Strategy Bioeconomy indicators will be developed which are based on scientific criteria. Methods of data collection will be established in order to make it possible to measure all dimensions of the contribution of the bioeconomy to the German economy and thus also effects such as employment, value added, innovation. The progress in the transformation process towards a bioeconomy, but also potential barriers or trade-offs will be visualized to enable decision-makers to draw any necessary consequences.

The bioeconomy monitoring aims to cover differentiated information about economic sectors, production processes and products that belong to the bioeconomy. Thus, it needs to consider both those industry sectors that are relevant in terms of economic impacts and volumes such as the wood industry or food as well as new application areas that are not yet big in terms of volumes, but in terms of innovation power and relative added.

In this project, the Fraunhofer ISI is primarily responsible for the collection of the innovative bioeconomy sub-segments and indicators in the context of innovation, research and development and education.

Duration

04/2016 - 03/20109

Client

  • Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie)

Partners

  • Ifo Institut (Lead Partner)
  • Nova-Institut
  • Leibniz-Institut für Agrartechnik und Bioökononomie (ATB)

Projekt

Ermittlung wirtschaftlicher Kennzahlen und Indikatoren für ein Monitoring des Voranschreitens der Bioökonomie (Bioökonomie-Monitoring)

Dieses Projekt stellt eine der drei Säulen des Bioökonomie-Monitorings der deutschen Bundesregierung dar. Die Zielsetzung dieses Projekts besteht darin, zur Entwicklung wirtschaftlicher Kennzahlen und Indikatoren für ein langfristiges Monitoring der Bioökonomie beizutragen. Durch ein kontinuierliches Monitoring soll eine Wissensbasis für politisches Handeln und eine öffentliche Auseinandersetzung über die Bioökonomie geschaffen werden. Zur Erreichung der Ziele der Nationalen Politikstrategie Bioökonomie sollen auf Basis wissenschaftlicher Forschung Kriterien und Indikatoren entwickelt und Verfahren der Datenerhebung etabliert werden, um möglichst alle Dimensionen des Beitrags der Bioökonomie zur deutschen Wirtschaft messbar zu machen und somit auch Effekte wie Beschäftigung, Wertschöpfung, Innovation. Es sollen Fortschritte, aber auch mögliche Hemmnisse oder Zielkonflikte im Transformationsprozess hin zu einer Bioökonomie sichtbar gemacht werden, um daraus gegebenenfalls notwendige Konsequenzen ziehen zu können.

 

In dem Bioökonomie-Monitoring sollen möglichst alle wirtschaftliche Sektoren, Produktionsprozessen und Produkte erfasst werden, welche der Bioökonomie zugerechnet werden können. Dies beinhaltet sowohl die ökonomisch und mengenmäßig relevanten Industriebereiche wie die Holzwirtschaft und der Sektor der Lebens- und Genussmittel als auch neue Anwendungsbereiche, die zwar nicht aufgrund der verarbeiteten oder erzeugten Mengen, wohl aber aufgrund ihrer Innovationsstärke und relativen Wertschöpfung von Bedeutung sind.

Das Fraunhofer ISI ist dabei in diesem Projekt vorrangig für die Erfassung der innovativen Teilsegmente der Bioökonomie und Indikatoren im Kontext von Innovation, Forschung und Entwicklung und Bildung zuständig.

Laufzeit

04/2016 - 03/2019

Auftraggeber

  • Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie

Partner

  • Ifo Institut (Lead Partner)
  • Nova-Institut
  • Leibniz-Institut für Agrartechnik und Bioökononomie (ATB)