Project

FRAME

FRAUNHOFER MICROELECTRONICS INNOVATION ENHANCEMENT – Innovationsunterstützende Begleitung der Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland (FMD)

At the beginning of the 21st century society, the economy and the environment are shaped by far-reaching transformation processes. These include demographic change, new needs for mobility, the trend towards a zero-carbon economy and extensive digitization. Germany as an important location for innovation is challenged to co-shape these processes. One of the key questions is which role research and innovation are going to play. Digitization is one of the current trends, which will pervade the whole innovation system and will generate a significant impact on the competitiveness of Europe and Germany. Micro- and nanoelectronics form the core technological basis for digitization. Leading companies and political initiatives, in particular in Asian countries, are accelerating this trend.

The Research Fab Microelectronics Germany (Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland, FMD) takes up these challenges and aims to strengthen the position of the European semiconductor and electronics industry against global competition based on a completely new concept. The core of the FMD concept is the bundling of distributed technological excellence into a highly competitive new organization. In consequence, the FMD is challenged to implement a new model for organizing and practicing research, thereby generating key contributions to enhancing the competitiveness of Europe and Germany in microelectronics. Thereby, the FMD will also position itself as a key innovator in microelectronics in Europe.

In order to realize the potentials of the FMD in its full breadth, the FMD will be embedded into a systemic innovation concept. The institutes of the Fraunhofer Group for Innovation Research are striving to support the achievement of this aim by their inception project FRAME.

 

Against this background the FRAME project has the following tasks:

  • Further development of the research portfolio of the Fraunhofer Group for Innovation Research.
  • Elaboration of a scientifically sound system-oriented innovation concept for the FMD.
  • Development of a model for the bundling of fragmented technology excellence, which is able to generate agile and flexible innovation competencies needed to respond to current and future grand challenges.
  • Positioning of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft as a key contact for innovation policy.

FRAME has been developed jointly by the institutes of the Fraunhofer Group for Innovation Research and the FMD. It is structured into six thematically oriented modules. The modules “organization development” and “strategy” support the FMD in designing and implementing an efficient structure and a sustainable research and innovation strategy. The required knowledge base is elaborated in the modules “foresight and roadmap”, “competitive situation”, and “market and customers”. Finally, within the module “impact” a theoretically and empirically well-founded concept for the investigation of the impact and significance of large-scale R&D and innovation activities, such as the FMD, on the innovation system will be developed.

No results up to now.

Publications

No publications up to now.

Duration

10/2017 to 12/2020

Client

  • Fraunhofer Zentrale

Partners

  • Fraunhofer INT
  • Fraunhofer IAO
  • Fraunhofer IMW
  • Fraunhofer IRB
  • Research Fab Microelectronics Germany (Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland, FMD)

Website

Projekt

FRAME

FRAUNHOFER MICROELECTRONICS INNOVATION ENHANCEMENT – Innovationsunterstützende Begleitung der Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland (FMD)

 

Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Umwelt werden am Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts durch tiefgreifende Transformationsprozesse, wie demographischer Wandel, neue Mobilitätsbedarfe, die Entwicklung zur Zero-Carbon-Ökonomie oder eine weitreichende Digitalisierung geprägt. Der Innovationsstandort Deutschland steht vor der Herausforderung, diese Transformationsprozesse mitzugestalten. Eine der zentralen Fragen ist, welche Rolle dabei Forschung und Innovation spielen können. Die Digitalisierung ist einer der aktuell weitreichendsten Trans­formationsprozesse, der das gesamte Innovationssystem durchdringt und er­hebliche Auswirkungen auf die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit Deutschlands und Europas hat. Mikro- und Nanoelektronik bilden die zentrale Technologiebasis für die Digitalisierung, die weltweit durch große Unternehmen und politische Initiativen insbesondere in asiatischen Ländern forciert wird.

Die Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland (FMD) greift diese Heraus­forderungen auf und möchte mit einem völlig neuen Konzept die Position der europäischen Halbleiter- und Elektronikindustrie im globalen Wettbewerb stär­ken. Zentrales Element des FMD-Konzepts ist die Bündelung verteilt vorliegender techno­logischer Exzellenz zu einer schlagkräftigen Organisationsform. Die FMD steht somit vor den Herausforderungen, ein neues Forschungsmodell erfolgreich zu implementieren, dadurch zentrale Beiträge zur Steigerung der Wettbewerbs­fähigkeit Deutschlands und Europas in der Mikroelektronik zu leis­ten und sich somit als führenden Innovator in der Mikroelektronik in Europa zu positionieren.

Um die Potenziale der FMD in voller Breite zu realisieren, soll die FMD in ein systemorientiertes Innovationskonzept eingebettet werden. Die Institute des Fraunhofer Verbunds Innovationsforschung wollen dieses Ziel im Rahmen ihres Gründungsprojekts FRAME befördern.

 

 

 

Vor diesem Hintergrund ergeben sich für das Projekt FRAME folgende Aufgaben:

  • Weiterentwicklung des Forschungsportfolios des Fraunhofer-Verbunds Innovationsforschung.
  • Entwicklung eines wissenschaftlich fundierten systemorientierten Innovationskonzepts für die FMD.
  • Entwicklung eines Modells für die Bündelung fragmentierter Technologieexzellenz, das die Etablierung von Innovationskompetenz unterstützt, die agil und flexibel aktuellen sowie künftigen Herausforderungen begegnet.
  • Positionierung von Fraunhofer als zentraler Ansprechpartner zu innovationspolitischen Fragestellungen.

Das gemeinsam von den Mitgliedsinstituten des Verbunds Innovationsforschung und der FMD konzipierte sozioökonomische Begleitforschungsprojekt ist in sechs Themenmodule gegliedert. Die Module „Organisationsentwicklung“ und „Strategieentwicklung“ unterstützen die FMD beim Design und bei der Imple­mentierung einer effizienten Organisationsform und einer nachhaltigen Forschungs- und Innovationsstrategie. Die hierfür erforderliche Wissensbasis wird in den Modulen „Foresight und Roadmaps“, „Wettbewerbssituation“ und „Markt und Kunde“ ausgearbeitet. Schließlich wird im Modul „Impact“ ein theore­tisch und empirisch fundiertes Konzept zur Untersuchung der Auswirkungen und Bedeutung von Großvorhaben in Forschung und Innovation wie der FMD auf das Innovationssystem entwickelt.

 

 


Es liegen noch keine Ergebnisse vor.

Publikationen

Es liegen noch keine Publikationen vor.

Laufzeit

10/2017 bis 12/2020

Auftraggeber

  • Fraunhofer Zentrale

Partner

  • Fraunhofer INT
  • Fraunhofer IAO
  • Fraunhofer IMW
  • Fraunhofer IRB
  • Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland (FMD)

Webseite