Project

Climate protection and energy efficiency potentials in the wastewater sector (KlimAW)

The wastewater sector is usually the single biggest energy consumer in a municipal context. At the same time, usable energy in the form of gas, electricity or heat is generated at wastewater treatment plants, so it could also be a component of the regional energy system. In the context of the Climate Action Plan 2050 with its far-reaching climate and energy policy objectives, the wastewater sector is therefore an important municipal field of action.

The primary objective of the research project is to determine the contribution that the wastewater sector could make to achieving the climate targets. The aim is to identify adaptation requirements with regard to a consistent optimization of wastewater treatment plants and their integration into the energy system and reveal factors hindering implementation.

The work in KlimAW is divided into two core topics:

  • Core topic 1 includes the evaluation of technical options in the wastewater sector to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by substituting fossil energy sources in the areas of power, heat and mobility. The analyses are done for three scenarios and include an estimation of the funding requirements and a description of the energy market requirements. The scenarios comprise a status quo scenario, which describes today’s situation; a benchmark scenario, which depicts optimization potentials that are already possible but often not realized in today’s system; and an innovative scenario, in which wastewater treatment plants contribute to the provision of balancing energy in the region in the sense of a systemic transition, and perform tasks in the energy system that go beyond their core function.
  • Core topic 2 examines relevant research projects and analyzes drivers and obstacles, describes legal and regulatory framework conditions including the identification of adaptation requirements and an analysis of the possible risks for plant operators.

In the sense of improving the integration of the wastewater sector into the energy system, interactions with the energy market, its requirements and the relevant framework conditions are always considered in the questions.

The project should provide pointers on how wastewater treatment plants can be practically integrated into the energy system. Among other things, an overview will be compiled, e.g. in the form of a database, which presents the technical options with their potentials, the relevant legal standards and the necessary adaptation requirements.

Duration

15.10.2018 - 15.04.2020

Client

  • Umweltbundesamt - FKZ: UFOPLAN 3718 41 3260

Partners

  • Wupperverbandsgesellschaft für integrale Wasserwirtschaft mbH
  • IKEM – Institut für Klimaschutz, Energie und Mobilität e. V.
Wupperverbandsgesellschaft für integrale Wasserwirtschaft mbH
IKEM – Institut für Klimaschutz, Energie und Mobilität e. V.

Projekt

Klimaschutz und Energieeffizienzpotenziale in der Abwasserwirtschaft (KlimAW)

Die Abwasserwirtschaft ist im kommunalen Kontext in der Regel der größte Energie-Einzelverbraucher. Gleichzeitig wird auf Kläranlagen nutzbare Energie in Form von Gas, Strom oder Wärme erzeugt, sie kann somit auch ein Baustein im regionalen Energiesystem sein. Im Kontext des Klimaschutzplans 2050 mit seinen weitreichenden klima- und energiepolitischen Zielsetzungen ist die Abwasserwirtschaft somit ein wichtiges kommunales Handlungsfeld.

Das übergeordnete Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist, das Beitragspotenzial der Abwasserwirtschaft zur Erreichung der Klimaschutzziele zu ermitteln. Dabei sollen Anpassungsbedarfe hinsichtlich einer konsequenten Optimierung von Kläranlagen sowie hinsichtlich deren Einbindung in das Energie-System identifiziert und umsetzungshemmende Faktoren aufgezeigt werden.

 

Die Schwerpunkte der Arbeiten in KlimAW sind in zwei Kernthemen gegliedert:

  • Kernthema 1 beinhaltet die Bewertung technischer Optionen der Abwasserwirtschaft zur Minderung von Treibhausgas-Emissionen durch die Substitution fossiler Energieträger in den Bereichen Strom, Wärme und Mobilität. Die Betrachtungen erfolgen für drei Szenarien und beinhalten eine Abschätzung der Förderbedarfe und die Darstellung der Anforderungen des Energiemarktes. Die Szenarien sind dabei das den IST-Zustand beschreibende Status Quo-Szenario, ein Benchmark Szenario, mit dem die bereits im jetzigen System möglichen aber häufig nicht realisierten Optimierungspotenziale abgebildet werden, sowie ein innovatives Szenario, in dem die Kläranlage i.S. systemischer Transition einen Beitrag zur Regelenergie in der Region leistet und über die Kernaufgabe hinaus Aufgaben im Energiesystem übernimmt.
  • In Kernthema 2 erfolgt die Untersuchung relevanter Forschungsvorhaben sowie Analyse von Treibern und Hemmnissen, die Darstellung der rechtlichen und regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen inkl. der Identifikation von Anpassungsbedarfen sowie einer Analyse möglicher Risiken für die Anlagenbetreiber.

Im Sinne einer verbesserten Einbindung der Abwasserwirtschaft in das Energiesystem, werden die Wechselwirkungen mit dem Energiemarkt bzw. dessen Anforderungen und relevanten Rahmenbedingungen bei den Fragestellungen grundsätzlich berücksichtigt.

Das Projekt soll somit Anhaltspunkte liefern, wie Kläranlagen sinnvoll in das Energiesystem integriert werden können. Dazu soll u. a. eine Übersicht erstellt werden, z. B. in Form einer Datenbank, in der die technischen Optionen mit ihren Potenzialen, den relevanten Rechtsnormen und notwendigen Anpassungsbedarfen dargestellt sind.

Laufzeit

15.10.2018 - 15.04.2020

Auftraggeber

  • Umweltbundesamt - FKZ: UFOPLAN 3718 41 3260

Partner

  • Wupperverbandsgesellschaft für integrale Wasserwirtschaft mbH
  • IKEM – Institut für Klimaschutz, Energie und Mobilität e. V.
Wupperverbandsgesellschaft für integrale Wasserwirtschaft mbH
IKEM – Institut für Klimaschutz, Energie und Mobilität e. V.