Project

FOX (Food processing in a box)

The FOX (Food processing in a box) project aims to develop innovative types of small-scale processing systems suitable for mobile or flexible units for fruit and vegetable producers and small and medium-sized enterprises of the first processing stage. The research will be primarily focused on small-scale technologies that yield high-quality products with high nutritional value in response to consumer needs. Consequently, the FOX approach focuses on mild and minimal processing and will take into account the entire food value chain.

FOX is a unique collaboration between universities, research institutions, small to medium enterprises, industries and associations and receives a financial support of 7 million Euro from the European Commission’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation program.

The Competence Center Foresight of the Fraunhofer ISI is responsible for WP5 “Business models and foresight“ and will identify and analyses trends influencing the food innovation system in the future. The Competence Center Foresight will also conduct a foresight process for developing scenarios for the framework conditions of the food innovation system and develop specific future scenarios for different regions chosen as test regions. This enables the discussion about robust business strategies, which show successful business models in different visions of the future.

Duration

01.06.2019 – 30.11.2023

Client

European Commission, Research Executive Agency, Industrial Leadership and Societal Challenges, Sustainable resources for food security and growth

Partners

  • Deutsches Institut für Lebensmitteltechnik
  • Stichting Wageningen  Research
  • Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  • Fraunhofer ISI
  • Aarhus Universitet
  • Ainia
  • Vyzkumny Ustav Potravinarsky Praha
  • Szkola Glowna Gospodarstwa Wiejskiego
  • Institut Za Nutricioniste Ko Ljubljana
  • Stichting EFFoST
  • Elea Vertriebs- und Vermarktungsgesellschaft mbH
  • European Food Information Council
  • Centre Technique De La Conservation Des Produits Agricoles*CTCPA
  • Kompetenzzentrum Obstbau-Bodensee
  • Stichting Food Tech Park Brainport
  • Falkenstein Projektmanagement GmbH
  • Linpac Packaging Pravia, S.A.
  • Terra I Xufa Sociedad Limitada
  • Ochsen, Tomáš Ignác Fénix
  • Agrární komora České republiky
  • Cedrus spółka z ograniczoną odpowiedzialnością spółka komandytowa
  • Společnost mladých agrárníků České republiky, z. s.
  • Sady Tuchoraz spol.s.r.o.
  • vanRijsingeningredients B.V.
  • Hutten Catering B.V.

Projekt

FOX (Food processing in a box)

Das Projekt FOX (Food processing in a box) zielt darauf ab, innovative Lebensmitteltechnologien zu entwickeln, die in mobilen oder flexiblen Einheiten von Obst- und Gemüseerzeugern sowie kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen genutzt werden können. Die Forschung wird sich in erster Linie auf kleine Technologien konzentrieren, die hochwertige Produkte mit hohem Nährwert hervorbringen. Daher konzentriert sich der FOX-Ansatz auf eine milde und minimale Verarbeitung und berücksichtigt die gesamte Lebensmittelwertschöpfungskette.

FOX ist eine einzigartige Zusammenarbeit zwischen Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen, kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, Industrie und Verbänden und wird im Rahmen des Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramms Horizon 2020 von der Europäischen Kommission mit 7 Millionen Euro unterstützt. 

Das Competence Center Foresight des Fraunhofer ISI ist für das WP5 »Geschäftsmodelle und Zukunftsforschung« verantwortlich und wird Trends identifizieren und analysieren, die das Innovationssystem Nahrungsmittel bis 2035 beeinflussen können. Das Competence Center Foresight wird auch einen Szenario-Prozess durchführen, um Zukunftsbilder sowohl für die Rahmenbedingungen des Lebensmittelinnovationssystems als auch spezifisch für verschiedene Modelregionen zu entwickeln. Dies ermöglicht die Diskussion von robusten Business Strategien, die auch in unterschiedlichen Zukunftsbildern erfolgreiche Geschäftsmodelle aufzeigen.

Laufzeit

01.06.2019 – 30.11.2023

Auftraggeber

European Commission, Research Executive Agency, Industrial Leadership and Societal Challenges, Sustainable resources for food security and growth

Partner

  • Deutsches Institut für Lebensmitteltechnik
  • Stichting Wageningen  Research
  • Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  • Fraunhofer ISI
  • Aarhus Universitet
  • Ainia
  • Vyzkumny Ustav Potravinarsky Praha
  • Szkola Glowna Gospodarstwa Wiejskiego
  • Institut Za Nutricioniste Ko Ljubljana
  • Stichting EFFoST
  • Elea Vertriebs- und Vermarktungsgesellschaft mbH
  • European Food Information Council
  • Centre Technique De La Conservation Des Produits Agricoles*CTCPA
  • Kompetenzzentrum Obstbau-Bodensee
  • Stichting Food Tech Park Brainport
  • Falkenstein Projektmanagement GmbH
  • Linpac Packaging Pravia, S.A.
  • Terra I Xufa Sociedad Limitada
  • Ochsen, Tomáš Ignác Fénix
  • Agrární komora České republiky
  • Cedrus spółka z ograniczoną odpowiedzialnością spółka komandytowa
  • Společnost mladých agrárníků České republiky, z. s.
  • Sady Tuchoraz spol.s.r.o.
  • vanRijsingeningredients B.V.
  • Hutten Catering B.V.