Research for the future

How can we tackle the global challenges of our time? What will the world of tomorrow look like and do we have to do in order to successfully survive? How do we arrive at intelligent innovations and solutions? As independent pioneers for society, politics and industry we deal with these questions and explore new avenues in order to find answers. Our range of issues includes questions from areas such as sustainable energies, mobility, internet policies/data protection, economic competitiveness as well as futures research and technology foresight.

Our strength is our scientists’ wide scientific competence.  Social scientists, economists, natural scientists, engineers, and industrial engineers work closely together at Fraunhofer ISI. We investigate issues and trends from different perspectives. Our studies rely on a broad spectrum of creative and advanced scientific theories, models, methods and measuring insruments.

  • The Fraunhofer Talent School is a program for talented youngsters between 15 and 18 who have a wide range of interests and would like to find out more about current scientific issues and enjoy dealing with them. Together with young researchers of the same age and experienced scientists of Fraunhofer ISI those who are interested can go on a discovery tour as part of the Fraunhofer Talent School.

    Fraunhofer encourages young talent

    When he launched the Fraunhofer Talent School in 2007 in Munich Professor Hans-Jörg Bullinger, former president of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, appealed to polics, industry and society to now forge a new “Alliance of the Best“, “the Fraunhofer Talent School invests in the next generation, encourages and supports it at the same time. In a country without raw materials our children’s inquiring minds are the best capital!“

    The Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, leading organisation for applied research in Germany, wants to come into contact with tomorow’s researchers early on. The prrogram adresses talented and gifted youngsters and gives them the opportunity to have an insight into research at Fraunhofer. 

    Conditions for participation

    The Fraunhofer Talent School is open to all students in years 10 to 13 if their teachers suggest them or if they can prove special abilities in the area of the respective workshop topics. A general condition is the willingness and enthusiasm to explore new topics independently and together, to work on them, to document and communicate them. Current Fraunhofer Talent Schools at different Fraunhofer Institutes at a glance.

  • Students who want to emerge themselves in the multifacetted world of mathematics, computer science, natural science and technology (MINT) while still at scchool or who  wish to discuss starting a degree course in science or technology at university Fraunhoferhas the Internet portal “my Talent“.

    The “myTalent Portal“ offers a wealth of information on the professional environment of the MINT subjects, direct contacts to researchers and the opportunity to exchange ideas with others, via chats, forums and email. The myTalent portal is open to all who have participated in a newcomer program of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft or a cooperation partner. Also students who have a high affinity to the MINT area (mathematics, information science, natural science technology) can register for myTalent.

    Links (only in German)

Schüler

Forschung für die Zukunft

Wie können wir die globalen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit bewältigen? Wie wird die Welt von morgen aussehen und was müssen wir tun, um in ihr erfolgreich zu bestehen? Wie kommen wir zu intelligenten Neuerungen und Lösungen? Als unabhängiger Vordenker für Gesellschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft beschäftigen wir uns mit diesen Fragestellungen und beschreiten für die Antworten neue Wege. Unser Themenspektrum umfasst Fragestellungen u.a. aus den Bereichen nachhaltige Energien, Mobilität, Internetpolitik/Datenschutz, wirtschaftliche Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sowie Zukunftsforschung und Technikvorausschau.

Unsere Stärke ist die breite wissenschaftliche Kompetenz unserer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Am Fraunhofer ISI arbeiten Sozialwissenschaftler, Wirtschaftswissenschaftler, Naturwissenschaftler, Ingenieure und Wirtschaftsingenieure eng zusammen. Wir beleuchten Themen und Trends aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven. In unseren Studien setzen wir auf ein breites Spektrum kreativer und fortgeschrittener wissenschaftlicher Theorien, Modelle, Methoden und Messinstrumente.

  • Die Fraunhofer-Talent-School ist ein Programm für begabte und vielseitig interessierte Jugendliche zwischen 15 und 18 Jahren, die gerne mehr über aktuelle wissenschaftliche Problemstellungen erfahren möchten und Spaß daran haben, sich mit diesen auseinanderzusetzen. Gemeinsam mit jungen Forschern im gleichen Alter sowie erfahrenen Wissenschaftlern des Fraunhofer ISI können sich Interessierte im Rahmen der Fraunhofer-Talent-School auf Entdeckungstour begeben.

    Fraunhofer fördert Talente

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hans-Jörg Bullinger, ehemaliger Präsident der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, hat den Auftakt zur Fraunhofer-Talent-School 2007 in München mit dem Appell an Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft verknüpft, jetzt eine neue »Allianz der Besten« zu schmieden: »Mit der Fraunhofer-Talent-School investieren wir in unseren Nachwuchs, fördern und fordern ihn frühzeitig. In einem Land ohne Rohstoffe ist der Forschergeist unserer Kinder das beste Kapital!«

    Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, führende Organisation für angewandte Forschung in Deutschland, möchte frühzeitig mit den Forschern von morgen in Kontakt kommen. Das Programm richtet sich an talentierte und begabte Jugendliche und bietet die Möglichkeit Einblick in die Forschungsarbeit bei Fraunhofer zu erhalten.

    Teilnahmevoraussetzung

    Die Fraunhofer-Talent-School steht allen Schülerinnen und Schülern der 10. bis 13. Jahrgangsstufe offen, die von ihren Lehrern vorgeschlagen werden beziehungsweise besondere Fähigkeiten aus dem Bereich der jeweiligen Workshopthemen nachweisen können. Allgemeine Voraussetzung ist die Bereitschaft und die Begeisterung, neue Themen selbstständig und gemeinsam zu erschließen, zu bearbeiten, zu dokumentieren und zu kommunizieren. 

  • Für Schüler und Schülerinnen, die noch während der Schulzeit in die facettenreiche Welt von Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik (MINT) eintauchen oder mit anderen über den Studieneinstieg in ein naturwissenschaftliches oder technisches Fach diskutieren möchten, gibt es das Internet-Portal »my Talent« von Fraunhofer.

    Das »myTalent-Portal« bietet eine Fülle von Informationen zur Berufswelt der MINT-Fächer, direkte Kontakte zu Forscherinnen und Forschern sowie die Gelegenheit, sich über Chats, Foren und per E-Mail mit anderen auszutauschen. Das myTalent-Portal steht allen offen, die bei der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft oder einem Kooperationspartner an einem Nachwuchsprogramm teilgenommen haben. Auch Schülerinnen und Schüler, die eine hohe Affinität zum MINT-Bereich (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften, Technik) haben, können sich zum myTalent anmelden.

    Links