Project

Communication and Participation for the Societal Transformation towards the Bioeconomy (BioKompass)

The BioKompass research project supports the social transformation process towards a bioeconomy, i. e., an economic model based on ecosystem services in the following ways:

  1. Facilitating the participatory development of a deeper, comprehensive understanding of a bio-based economy by producing visions of a future bioeconomy with the help of a scenario process involving experts and various stakeholders. The future visions will be used during the course of the project to promote broad public perception of the Bioeconomy and to link it to concrete ideas and topic areas.
  2. Promoting the participatory development of educational content through a framework of Science Days (Talent Schools), Experience Days, and a high school level seminar course.
  3. Supporting the development and testing of innovative participation and communication formats for different target groups in the museum sector, using digital and analogue presentation formats and linking them to existing communication processes.
  4. Developing an accompanying evaluation process to support the transferability of the formats to other transformation processes. Using specifically developed survey instruments, the effects of the formats are empirically recorded, evaluated, reflected upon, and used for further development.

The project is divided into three sub-projects, which are funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Fraunhofer ISI is responsible for the overall coordination and is in charge of subproject A – Future Visions of the Bioeconomy.

Further information on the BioKompass project can be found on the project website.

You will find a virtual tour of the special exhibition "Shaping the future - how do we want to live?" here.

You can virtually take the exhibition home with the AR-app BioKompass and put yourself in the position of three different future scenarios with a quiz. The app is available for a free download in the app stores and can be found by using the keyword "BioKompass".

 

Duration

10/2017 – 09/2020

Client

German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

Projekt

Kommunikation und Partizipation für die gesellschaftliche Transformation von Bioökonomie (BioKompass)

Das Forschungsprojekt BioKompass hat verschiedene Informations- und Kommunikationsaktivitäten für den gesellschaftlichen Transformationsprozess hin zu einer Bioökonomie entwickelt und erprobt, u.a.:

  1. die partizipative Entwicklung eines vertieften, umfassenden Verständnisses einer zukünftigen biobasierten Wirtschaftsweise in der Form von Zukunftsvorstellungen zur Bioökonomie mithilfe eines Szenarien-Prozesses unter Einbindung von Expert*innen und unterschiedlichen Stakeholdern. Die Zukunftsbilder wurden im weiteren Verlauf des Vorhabens genutzt, um die Wahrnehmung des Themas in einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zu fördern und mit konkreteren Inhalten zu verknüpfen.
  2. die partizipative Entwicklung von Bildungsinhalten im Rahmen von Science Days (Talent Schools), Experience Days und einem Seminarkurs im Gymnasium.
  3. die Entwicklung und Erprobung innovativer Partizipations- und Kommunikationsformate für unterschiedliche Zielgruppen im Museumsbereich unter Nutzung von digitalen und analogen Darstellungsformaten und deren Ankopplung an bestehende Kommunikationsprozesse.
  4. eine begleitende Evaluation zur Unterstützung der Übertragbarkeit der Formate auf andere Transformationsprozesse. Durch spezifisch entwickelte Erhebungsinstrumente wurden die Wirkungen der Formate differenziert empirisch erfasst, ausgewertet, reflektiert und für die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung genutzt.

Das Projekt gliedert sich in drei Teilprojekte, die vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung BMBF gefördert wurden.

Das Fraunhofer ISI war verantwortlich für die Gesamtkoordination und leitete das Teilprojekt A – Zukunftsvorstellungen Bioökonomie.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt BioKompass finden Sie auf der Projektwebseite.

Einen virtuellen Rundgang durch die Sonderausstellung "Zukunft gestalten - wie wollen wir leben?" finden Sie hier.

Mit der AR-App BioKompass können Sie sich die Ausstellung virtuell nachhause holen und sich mit einem Quiz in drei verschiedene Zukunftsszenarien hineinversetzen. Sie finden die App zum kostenlosen Download unter dem Stichwort "BioKompass" in den App-Stores.