Dr. Sophie Schneider

Scientific Officer to the Director

Dr. Sophie Schneider studied Management and Economics at the Ruhr University Bochum (RUB) and the University of Bern and graduated with a Master in Economics at the RUB in 2013 with a focus on international economics and development.

During her studies she already gained experience in teaching and in political work in the West Africa Department of the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development in Bonn. After graduating from university, she worked as a research assistant in the department of national accounts and prices at the Federal Statistical Office in Wiesbaden. Afterwards, she started her doctorate at the International Economics Group of the University of Hohenheim in Stuttgart where she also worked as a research assistant, teaching on the Bachelor and Master level. The focus of her dissertation lied in the empirical analysis of trade agreements and institutions. In 2020 she defended her dissertation on the topic “Trade Integration, Global Capital Flows and the Link to Institutional Quality from a North-South Perspective”. From 2019 to 2020 she worked as Senior Associate and later as Assistant Manager in the division of Transfer Pricing Services at KPMG in Stuttgart.

Since November 2020 Sophie Schneider is part of the scientific staff of the Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI, Professor Dr. Marion A. Weissenberger-Eibl. The focus of her work lies in the fields of innovation management, sustainability and empirical economic research. Specifically, she is interested in the analysis of the broad set of topics from an economic and development perspective.

Dr. Sophie Schneider

Wissenschaftliche Referentin der Institutsleiterin

Dr. Sophie Schneider studierte Management and Economics an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) und der Universität Bern und absolvierte 2013 an der RUB den Master in Economics mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Internationale Wirtschaftsbeziehungen und Entwicklung.

Während ihres Studium nahm sie bereits Lehrtätigkeit war und sammelte erste praktische Erfahrung auf politischer Ebene im Westafrika-Referat des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung in Bonn. Im Anschluss an ihr Studium arbeitete sie zunächst als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin beim Statistischen Bundesamt in Wiesbaden in der Abteilung Volkswirtschaftliche Gesamtrechnung und Preise. Daraufhin begann sie ihre Promotion am Lehrstuhl für Außenwirtschaft der Universität Hohenheim in Stuttgart, wo sie auch als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin insbesondere in der Lehre tätig war. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer Promotion lag in der empirischen Analyse von Handelsabkommen und Institutionen. 2020 schloss sie ihre Promotion zum Thema »Trade Integration, Global Capital Flows and the Link to Institutional Quality from a North-South Perspective« ab. Von 2019 bis 2020 arbeitete sie zunächst als Senior Associate und später als Assistant Managerin bei KPMG im Bereich Transfer Pricing Services in Stuttgart.

Seit November 2020 ist Sophie Schneider Teil des wissenschaftlichen Stabs der Institutsleiterin am Fraunhofer ISI in Karlsruhe. Hierbei liegt der Fokus ihrer Arbeit auf den Schwerpunktthemen Innovationsmanagement, Nachhaltigkeit und empirische Wirtschaftsforschung. Ihr besonderes Interesse liegt dabei insbesondere in der Betrachtung der vielseitigen Themen aus volkswirtschaftlicher und entwicklungspolitischer Perspektive.