Sebastian Burger M. A.

Scientific Officer to the Director

Sebastian Burger began his university studies with a Double Bachelor of Arts in International Tourism Management in Bad Honnef and Sydney. He then completed a Master in Culture and Economy at the University of Mannheim with a major in philosophy, and minors in business management and psychology. During his studies in Mannheim, he also worked as a research assistant at Mannheim Business School in the field of management training.

In the summer of 2018 he began his doctorate under Prof. Bernward Gesang on the topic “Die Abhilfeverantwortung global agierender Unternehmen – Eine Möglichkeit zur Verbesserung moralisch schlechter Zustände” (“The remedial responsibility of globally active enterprises – one way to improve morally poor conditions” working title).

He gained practical experience during internships at TUI UK & Ireland in Luton (England) in procurement and purchasing and at the Deutsche Post DHL in HR performance management & programs. For almost four years, he was jointly responsible for political education in the field of “Economics and ethics” as the director of studies at the Evangelical Academy of the Palatinate. He is also an honorary director at CA – Consulting Akademie Unternehmensethik gUG. This hosts an annual summer school for students and young professionals, and publishes conference proceedings on the respective topics.

Since July 2020, Sebastian Burger has been working in the research team of the director of the Fraunhofer ISI in Karlsruhe.

    • Burger, S.; Offenwanger, D. J.; Quandt, J. H.; Reiter, S.; Schank, C. (Hrsg.) (2020): Führungsverantwortung und Führungsversagen. München und Mering: Rainer Hampp Verlag.

Sebastian Burger M. A.

Wissenschaftlicher Referent der Institutsleiterin

Sebastian Burger begann seine Hochschulbildung mit einem Studium zum Double Bachelor of Arts in International Tourism Management in Bad Honnef und Sydney (Australien). Im Anschluss daran absolvierte er seinen Master: Kultur & Wirtschaft an der Universität Mannheim mit dem Hauptfach Philosophie, dem Sachfach BWL und dem Nebenfach Psychologie. Während seines Studiums in Mannheim arbeitete er zudem als wissenschaft­liche Hilfskraft in der Mannheim Business School im Bereich der Führungs­kraft­entwicklung.

Im Sommer 2018 begann er seine Promotion bei Prof. Dr. Bernward Gesang zum Thema »Die Abhilfeverantwortung global agierender Unternehmen – Eine Möglichkeit zur Verbesserung moralisch schlechter Zustände« (Arbeitstitel).

Praktische Erfahrung sammelte er in Praktika bei der TUI UK & Ireland in Luton (England) im Bereich Beschaffung und Einkauf und bei der Deutschen Post DHL im Bereich HR Leistungs­management & Programme. Zuletzt war er knapp vier Jahre als wissenschaftlicher Studienleiter der Evangelischen Akademie der Pfalz für die politische Bildung im Bereich »Wirtschaft & Ethik« mitverantwortlich. Daneben engagiert er sich bei der CA – Consulting Akademie Unternehmensethik gUG als ehrenamtlicher Geschäftsführer. Diese veranstaltet jedes Jahr eine Summerschool für Studierende und Young Professionals und veröffentlicht einen Tagungsband zum jeweiligen Themenschwerpunkt.

Seit Juli 2020 ist Sebastian Burger im wissenschaftlichen Stab der Institutsleiterin im Fraunhofer ISI in Karlsruhe tätig.

    • Burger, S.; Offenwanger, D. J.; Quandt, J. H.; Reiter, S.; Schank, C. (Hrsg.) (2020): Führungsverantwortung und Führungsversagen. München und Mering: Rainer Hampp Verlag.