Fabian Voswinkel

Researcher

Fabian Voswinkel is a researcher and PhD student at the Competence Center Energy Technologies and Energy Systems at the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI in the Energy Efficiency business unit since 2017.

His research and work focus on the evaluation of energy efficiency policies and energy system modelling. His work includes both the applied evaluation of energy efficiency programmes, especially in the industrial sector, and conceptual work on evaluation systems and methodological issues. He also deals with non-energy benefits of energy efficiency measures. In the field of energy system modelling, he is involved in the LEAP and TIMES models in processes for the preparation of energy and climate plans according to the EU Governance Regulation.

Fabian Voswinkel holds a B.Sc. degree in International Economics from the Eberhard-Karls University of Tübingen and M.Sc. in Sustainability Economics and Management from the University of Kassel. He spent one year at the Universidade Federal Fluminense in Brazil. He specialised in energy economics and European natural gas markets.

He works on projects in English, German, Spanish and Portuguese.

Fabian Voswinkel

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Fabian Voswinkel ist seit 2017 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand im Competence Center Energietechnologien und Energiesysteme des Fraunhofer-Instituts für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI im Geschäftsfeld Energieeffizienz.

Seine Forschungs- und Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Evaluation von Energieeffizienzpolitiken und der Energiesystemmodellierung. Seine Arbeit umfasst dabei sowohl die angewandte Evaluation von Energieeffizenzprogrammen, insbesondere im Industriesektor, als auch konzeptuelle Arbeit zu Evaluationssystemen und methodische Fragenstellungen. Er beschäftigt sich weiterhin mit nicht-energetischen Benefits von Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen. Im Bereich der Energiesystemmodellierung ist er in den Modellen LEAP und TIMES an Prozessen zur Erstellung von Energie- und Klimaplänen nach der EU-Governance Verordnung beteiligt.

Fabian Voswinkel ist B.Sc. in International Economics von der Eberhard-Karls Universität Tübingen und M.Sc. in Nachhaltigem Wirtschaften von der Universität Kassel. Ein Jahr absolvierte er an der Universidade Federal Fluminense in Brasilien. Seine Spezialisierung lag auf Energieökonomie und europäischen Erdgasmärkten. Er arbeitet an Projekten in englischer, deutscher, spanischer und portugiesischer Sprache.