Prof. Dr. Eberhard Jochem

Fraunhofer Institute for
Systems and Innovation Research ISI


Senior scientist of the Fraunhofer Institute of Systems and Innovation Research ISI. Internationally acknowledged expert in technical and socio-economic research, mainly in the field of energy, material efficiency and climate change. Major contributions to the development and implementation of a sustainable energy and resources policy. Member of various national and international scientific organisations and advisory committees. Author of several books and numerous publications in the field of energy and environment with regard to R&D, innovation, economics and policy issues.


1999-2007: Full Professor of ETH Zürich (economics and energy economics), Lecturing in Lausanne and Zürich at theSwiss Federal Institute of Technology

since 1999: Senior executive at the Fraunhofer ISI and co-director of the newly founded CEPE – Centre for Energy Policy and Economics of ETH Zürich

1978-1999: Lecturing activities at the Universities of Karlsruhe and Kassel in Energy, Resource Economics, Technology Assessment, Energy Policy

1983-1999: Deputy director of the Fraunhofer ISI

1978-1983: Head of the Department of Systems Analysis at the Fraunhofer ISI

1973-1978: Researcher at the Fraunhofer ISI

1972-1973: Research Fellow at the DECHEMA, Frankfurt

1971-1972: Research fellow at the Department of Environmental Health Sciences, Harvard University, Boston, USA

1969-1971: Part-time lecturer in the Technology Department of the Oskar- von-Miller Polytechnikum in Munich

Work focus

  • sectoral energy demand forecasts

  • rational energy use in industry, private households and the commercial/public sectors, including evaluation of energy and climate policies

  • energy efficiency, technology foresight


  • since 2007: Co-Editor of the journal "Energy Efficiency"

  • since 2005: head of the Scientific Board of the ISET, Kassel

  • since 2005: full member of the Schweizerischen Akdemie der Technischen Wissenschaften (SATW)

  • since 2001: Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the journal "Climate Policy"

  • 2001-2008: Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Tyndall Centre, U.K.

  • 2001-2007: Member of the "Sustainability Council" of the Federal Government of Germany

  • 2000-2002: Member of the Enquête Commission "Sustainable Energy Suppply" of the German Bundestag

  • since 1999: Member of the Advisory Committee of Energy Perspektives of the Swiss Federal Agency for Energy

  • 1998-2002: Vice Chair of the Working Group III of the Interngovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

  • since 1993: Member of the scientific advisory committee of the Wuppertal-Institute

  • since 1989: Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the journal "Energy & Environment"


  • 2009: Bayer Climate Award

  • 2006: Decoration from the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety 

  • 2005: Full Member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences

  • 2001: Order of Merit on Ribbon of the Federal Republic of Germany

  • 1998: honorary professor at the University of Kassel